We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family owned hotel with spacious and clean rooms in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family owned hotel with spacious and clean rooms in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great place, in a great location. The room was bigger than I was expecting and in great condition. The place is family owned and both husband and wife were very friendly and resourceful. You are a few miles from uptown Sedona but very close to Bell Rock, Courthouse, and Cathedral Rock. I would highly recommend it.

It also has a supermarket very close and a great place for breakfast/lunch called Red Rock Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chonia1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    379
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
243
604
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This motel was perfect for us! Immaculately clean. Peaceful. Beds were amazingly comfortable. Motel was booked to capacity, but never heard a sound from other guests. Owners let us check in a bit early and very helpful in telling us where things were in Sedona. Conveniently located, walking distance to grocery store and restaurant. Highly recommended, and would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tntraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Their welcoming staff makes you feel quite at home; a feeling only magnified by the really comfy mattress that allows you to sink-in after a hard day's hike. This husband and wife team went out of their way to make certain that my stay was truly comfortable ~ very knowledgeable about the trails and always there with a great restaurant recommendations. Considering how ridiculously expensive other area hotels are ~ it's almost too good to be true to find this wonderful oasis so close to everything. I've stayed here twice and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoneMxxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed her twice within a two-week period. After our first two-night stay, we decided to go back for one more night before flying back to Chicago! We loved everything about this hotel, including the location. The rooms have obviously been recently updated. Everything looks brand new, and the beds were fabulous! What we really appreciated about the Desert Quail Inn, in addition to the wonderful amenities, were the owners. It is family-owned and run, and we had the pleasure of meeting the owners, a very nice couple (and their adorable kids) during our two stays at the Desert Quail Inn. It is always refreshing to deal with the actual owners rather than a 1-800 number when making reservations, and even more enjoyable when you get to meet the folks you talked to over the phone. This hotel is about 15 minutes away from the busy and congested areas of Sedona, which we really appreciated. We ate at three restaurants very close to the Inn--all very good. The Red Rock Café (closes early--no dinner here) is a great, little café that is across the parking lot from the Inn. Great breakfast/lunch. Try their plate-sized cinnamon roll (which feeds 6)! Across the street is Marketplace Café, where we both enjoyed some awesome pasta. A short drive down Hwy 179, another gem: Maria's Restaurant & Cantina with great food, reasonable prices and a really nice staff. We can't wait to get back to the Sedona area!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sedona is beautiful but expensive. After searching several months for accommodations that were under $200 and after reading many TripAdvisor reviews of the Desert Quail, we crossed our fingers and booked online. I was initially a little hesitant because of the "motor lodge" appearance of the place, but they must have recently put some money into renovations because the rooms are tastefully updated. As an added bonus, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were quiet. The inn is not located in downtown Sedona, and you will need a car to get to and from attractions, but it's located in a quieter part of the area, and I felt the rock scenery was even prettier in that region than in the touristy downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amdanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

While we were a bit disappointed with the weather In Sedona, we were not disappointed in The Desert Quail Inn. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We had a large flat screen tv. Instead of hiking in rain and snow, we enjoyed the art shops and restaurants of Tlaquepaque and then returned to enjoy our room. Behind The Desert Quail Inn (go around the swimming pool) you will find Red Rock Cafe and a handy grocery store, IGA Webers, with good selections for travelers. We paid $193 total for two nights, a very good price; it's less other nights of the week. Lots of advantages to its location off highway 179.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

although the reviews were excellent we were suprised how neat and clean the recently renovated large room was. Staff was friendly and the Red Rock Cafe behind it was excellent.Next night we stayed in a high end brand hotel which could not compare with Desert quail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank errolv76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Property: Desert Quail Inn
Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing