We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Attentive, efficient staff, spotless spacious room. My husband is in a wheelchair, and every effort was made to make us comfortable. Great breakfast at the cafe behind the motel. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMRfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
There are newer reviews for Desert Quail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked this motel after reading the reviews for this and others in the area. Desert is owner operated and it shows. The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Is is a bit far from downtown Sedona, but the trip is pleasant with great views of the red rocks along the way. We stayed here for just one night because of our early morning balloon ride. I highly recommend the Desert Quail Inn.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are good rooms. You may want to ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful friendly staff! Very clean, new amenities. We have stayed there many times while visiting Sedona and have never had a bad experience. It's not a high-end hotel, but the money we saved here we spent on fine dining, adventures, and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevthedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went to Sedona the 2nd week of January, 2013, as part of a larger trip, to see the Grand Canyon. We arrived at 3:00 Saturday afternoon 1/19. The weather and views were breathtaking. The temperature was almost 60 degrees, 40 degrees warmer than home. The check in process was very smooth, and the owners were very friendly at Check In. We got the 2nd room, ground floor, from the lobby. We had a wooden bench outside our room, and being smokers, and Internet addicts, immediately sat in the Sun, plugged into the free Wi-Fi, and proceeded to map out our plans. We opened the door to the room, and were taken aback by how spacious it was, I mean this had to be the lowest price place in town, but it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor, I had to check it out. It was perfect, had a King Bed, Sofa, Flat Screen tv, Refrigerator, Microwave, and a small, but decent bathroom. If you go to Sedona to see the beautiful rocks, and the sunsets, Save your money and stay here, it's a fraction of what the resorts charge, and the perfect place to relax after a day out in the desert.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthSiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked this place because of all the online rave reviews. When we first drove up and I saw that it actually looked kind of like just your everyday mom and pop motel on the outside. WOW! What a surprise when we actually walked into our rooms. First of all, they are MUCH larger than the exterior belies, tastefully decorated and very well equipped. Our room had a gas fireplace, a jacuzzi (was that ever appreciated after a day of hiking!), a nice sized refrigerator and a large flat screen TV. The beds have memory foam mattresses - a little soft for my liking, but that is just a personal perference. I am sure most people will love them. This is a small thing, but I have stayed at much more expensive places that did not do this - within 5 minutes of getting into our rooms, the front desk called to be sure everything was satisfactory. What?!? Nobody does that! I thought that showed the level of customer service at this establishment. Added bonus - GREAT restaurants are very nearby. Red Rocks Cafe is just behind the motel and fabulous for breakfast, but that is another review Miley's and Cucina Rustica are a very short distance one way and a great coffee shop just a short distance the other way. It is only 15 minutes from downtown Sedona and you will find it to be one of the most breathtaking drives in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this place although that probably means I will have difficulty booking a room in the future because it will be so popular.

Room Tip: It IS located right on Hwy 89, so request a room towards the rear of the property. This isn't a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhondawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really liked this little place. The room was clean and very tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the staff was accomodating and really helpful. The room even had a quiet heater which is rare in hotel rooms. The only suggestion I would make to them for a more comfortable stay would be to have more than a thin blanket on the bed. If they had thicker bedding I would have enjoyed staying here for my whole trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back to cut down on traffic noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Majia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were last in Sedona in 1999, and very surprised at how built-up it has become. Outlet Mall? Sedona, really?

Last visit we stayed right near the "downtown roundabout," and we were very happy that Desert Quail is located on the less-congested side of town. Many dining and shopping options are in walking distance. We had left a business conference in Scottsdale, and Sedona was a great halfway point for a day trip to the Grand Canyon.

The owners and staff of The Desert Quail were very friendly, attentive, and accomodating. We loved our room, my husband even commented on how large it was. The carpet and furnishings appeared brand new, and the room was immaculate. The fireplace was wonderful, considering it was below freezing outside for our entire 2 night-3 day stay. We truly appreciated having the refrigerator (good and cold!) and the microwave; a nice grocery store (IGA) was just behind the hotel; we stopped in everyday.

The Desert Quail was priced just right for our budget needs, and we would definately stay here again, and recommend.

Some other day trips we took were to Montezuma's Well, Montezuma's Castle, and Flagstaff. Rt 180 was a nice drive, on the way between Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with views of the red rocks. Since I cannot walk very far, we appreciated being ab...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CatLadyChristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
6.4 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
5.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $100 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing