We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice!”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to stay here based on the good reviews I saw on Tripadvisor. On our arrival we were checked in by a gentleman whom I assume is the manager, and he was delightful! He gave us a lot of great information about places to eat, and sights to see. We would never have known to drive up to the airport at a certain time to see one of the most spectacular sunsets we've ever seen.
The motel itself is very nice, and of typical motor lodge style. It's located a short (less than ten minute), BEAUTIFUL drive out of Sedona. Plenty of restaurants and stores immediately nearby.The parking lot was well lit, nice landscaping, and the office was welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean, and nicely decorated. There was a nice mini-fridge large enough for our wine, beer, and leftovers. Maybe a standard sized coffee maker would have been nice, but the little one worked fine.
The only problem we had was that the hair dryer didn't work; and the shower curtain rod had come loose, so the curtain wouldn't stay closed and the floor got very wet. I left a note about this for the housekeeper when we went out for the day, and everything was completely repaired immediately. And when we checked out, the beautiful lady in the office actually thanked me for bringing those problems to their attention!
We would absolutely stay here again! Fabulous value for a very nice motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an 18 years old hotel which was remodeled in recent years. It is located on Hwy 179 on the southern outskirts of Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek, the modern suburbs of Sedona, AZ. The room was very spacious, with new furniture, TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and an ironing board, soaps and shampoos. The bathroom was immaculate and the heating unit was very quiet. You could barely hear it running, unlike other hotels where the unit grinds at you and drowns any conversation. The price was inexpensive, which I would consider a bargain for a town that is knowns for its tourism business all year round. After all, it is Red Rock Country with magnificient view of the Red rock mountains and formation that surround Sedona. The location was about 7 or 8 miles outside Sedona proper but, for such a price, it was well worth the drive. The drive is very scenic too. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a nice and clean place for a very reasonable price in such a touristic town. I will patronize this hotel again in the future.
The hotel does not have a restaurant nor does it provide breakfast facilities, however, right around the block, in a strip center, you could have your breakfast at the Red Rock Cafe, a quaint and excellent breakfast and lunch cafe. Enjoy.
John R

Room Tip: Don't call a hotel/motel locator service. The price is more expensive through the service. Call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a very clean, well run motel. In an area of very expensive motels, this is reasonably priced and a very nice place to stay. Looking off the balcony there is an awesome view. This is located in Oak Creek,a quiet town, away from a lot of the commotion of downtown Sedona. The drive to downtown Sedona is about 15 minutes through some of the most beautiful scenery in the area. The hike around Bell Rock is super. Bell Rock is visible from the hotel.

The manager and cleaning people are very, very nice and accommodating and the beds are some of the most comfortable I have slept in. We ended up staying here for 4 nights because it was so pleasant.

Weber's IGA is just behind the hotel, easy walking distance. It is a full grocery that caters to visitors. They have a hot breakfast prepared in the AM, very inexpensively and a great selection of beers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldengirlBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was planning to stay in one of the resort hotels and was prepared to pay Sedona rates. I was puzzled to find a motel ranked #4 in Sedona and took a closer look at the reviews. I have to agree with all of the positive reviews. This hotel is an absolute gem - the rooms are huge, comfortable and absolutely spotlessly clean. The personnel is also very friendly and the location is very convenient. This is a hassle free place that does not leave you with a sticker shock. The owners are investing in upgrades and everything is nice and modern. I spend more than 250 days in hotels every year and wish that some five star hotels would be as comfortable as this one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Francine was so friendly and helpful. In fact, all of the staff were with their recommendations. The fireplace is a must! Great deal! Clean and comfortable. What more do u need? U are in Sedona, GET OUTSIDE!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose the Desert Quail based on other Tripadvisor reviews and are so happy with our choice. Some expressed disappointment that Sedona itself was so far away. Our reaction is just the opposite as we enjoyed being out of town, and the drive along 179 is outstanding. Even our end room had a great view of the beautiful red rocks.The room was spacious and comfortable with a microwave and refrigerator. Having breakfast at the nearby Red Rock Cafe was a delicious experience, and we also enjoyed the Marketplace Cafe across the road. Wednesdays there feature a very generous wine tasting special. Motel staff was very helpful, and we would have loved to stay longer than two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect because this motel had much better prices than others in Sedona, but reassured by the other reviews, we stayed here one night in November. As others have noted, the outside is just a typical looking motel with all outside entrances - not bad but nothing special. However, when I opened the door, both my husband and I were quite surprised by how nice it looked and it was definitely more upscale than the outside. The room was very attractive, clean and had a microwave and refrigerator.Those items were very nice since we were on a long road trip and had a cooler with food with us. It was also nice to be able to cook our oatmeal for breakfast since the only downside of this motel is that there is no breakfast supplied.

The owner was very helpful with recommendations for dinner and sightseeing. I did have some problems with the WiFi but he was very apologetic and did everything he could do to help me with that.

It is about 7 miles south of town, which we didn't mind as we were heading that way upon our checkout anyway. There are a couple places to eat close but be aware of this distance from the town so you are not surprised.

If you want to save money but not sacrifice on comfort or quality, be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlmdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.7 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 49 in Sedona
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 49 in Sedona
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $99 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing