We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of La Petite Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Sedona
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We enjoyed staying in #16 for 4 nights. The bedroom & living room were both spacious and clean. The 2 beds were big & comfortable and the living room had lots of natural light coming from big windows. We particularly enjoyed standing on a balcony early in the morning watching sunrise from redrocks and quiet night breeze. Even though, it was right by the big road, we didn't hear any traffics at night. It was one of the highlights for travellers who have no cars like us that it is very short walk to the shops and restaurants/cafes in uptown.

  • Liked — right price and location
  • Disliked — nothing particular
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
62
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
438 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

La Vista is conveniently located on the edge of town and will provide clean, basic, unpampered accommodations. We reserved two rooms: #15 is on the corner and has a large bathroom and #16 has a separate TV room but a tiny bathroom. Of the two I would definitely try to get #15.

The motel is small and is located immediately off the main highway. We weren't bothered by noise (we were late to arrive and early to leave each day) but one of the beds in room #16 is so close to the door that the bedspread kept getting caught in the door. It was a little weird in that you felt you could drive right up to your bed. The furniture in both rooms was a bit worn but the beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean.

We were able to book these rooms at the last minute over the July 4th holiday weekend and the rates were quite reasonable. I probably would not stay again if it were room #16 because the bathroom was so small, but I would stay in room #15, especially for the price.

  • Liked — Location, price, availability
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom in #16
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,389 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We spent 2 nights here in early May. We were on a budget with hotel acommodations and this fit the bill. Based on the good reviews, its location, and another Trip member contacting me per my request, after their stay, and giving it a thumbs up, we booked. We had the upstairs corner room, on the side of the motel. I cannot recall the room number. It is right behind the office. We had the deck to ourselves it seems, with a round table and 2 chairs. We ate our breakfast out here each day, looking at our view of the red rocks, and some trees. It was a bit noisy from the roadway being so close. At night, we left our door open, as they have a screen door (which locks), and enjoyed the breeze and fresh air. The traffic was not as noticeable with the fan and/or TV on. The room was huge and had 3 wonderful picture windows. Basic motel room. Frig/microwave. Bed was pretty comfortable. King. Long desk, uncomfortable desk chair. Decent TV. Small round table and two more adequate chairs to use. Two drawers in desk to put clothing. A small hallway with a clothes rack, plenty of hangars, a luggage rack, which also has a drawer. Bathroom basic, but nicely done. Place was very clean. Our only complaint was the shower, it did not have proper pressure (either too hard or soft) and temp. was either burning hot or freezing. We noted this to the owners. There are also two nightstands with lamps. No clock/alarm. Phone. The people are very friendly, helpful and enjoyed talking with them. We'd probably stay there again, unless we could swing for a higher priced location. Great location for walking to Uptown Sedona for shopping, eating, ice cream.

  • Liked — location, views, picture windows in our room, size
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Looking for a lot of amenities? Keep walking. But if you are looking for a great value on a wonderful room in a great location with a vista of the red rocks then welcome home! The folks that run this property are also very friendly and willing to please. They even gave us some wonderful suggestions on dinner and lunch/breakfast for our long weekend in Sedona - (Wildflower Bread Company for lunches and breakfasts and the Cowboy Club for dinner). They are located in the uptown and very convenient to everything uptown as to offer including fabulous views. The rooms are somewhat small but they are clean and there is 19 inch color TV and our room (#17) had a gas fireplace, minifridge and microwave. All of this for $79.95 per night in Sedona! Can't beat it. #17 is on the second floor so be prepared to haul your suitcase up a flight of stairs but the views are awesome and the gas fireplace is a nice touch to take off the morning chill. If we go back to Sedona we will be staying at the La Vista!

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Disliked — If they would have had a hottub this would have been perfect!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockchalktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We stayed in room 24 from 3/13-3/3/17/08. The room had a kitchen with a table, living room with a couch and chair and a bedroom with 2 double beds. The property is older (1970's style) but is clean and in uptown Sedona. This is a family run business and they could not have been more pleasant. We paid $69 per night and we were very happy. It is two level and the rooms on second floor have nice views. The rooms on the first floor are below the tree line so you don't have a view unless you go out on the patio. There is a porch/ patio in front of all of the rooms. We stayed at the Best Western Arroyo last year which was very nice and modern but more that twice the price. This year I was traveling with a friend on a limited budget and we were just as happy with the La Vista. We could walk into town, had a clean room, and pleasant assistance for any questions. Also we had a massage at the local massage school NAMTI which was only $ 30 for a 60 min massage. Last year the friend I was with did not have any budget limitations and this year a different friend was very limited but I had just as nice a time. Sedona is about being outside in the red rocks, eating at the restaurants, and enjoying nature.

  • Liked — Value, Location, and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Exactly as expected
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank avaheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

I don’t even remember how I found La Vista Motel on line – but I am glad I did! All we needed for our stay in Sedona was a clean place to sleep – and that is what we found and more in this cute motel. The motel is located at the edge of what I think is Uptown – it was a few blocks north from the Matterhorn on 89 and easily within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

I had called and inquired about their room with two bedrooms – asking to insure the rooms were divided by a door. My husband, his adult daughter and I stayed there for two nights and stayed in room 26. The cost was $102.00 per night INCLUDING tax. Check in was quick – even with prepaying for the room. The staff was more than helpful in finding a restaurant, internet café, etc.

If you look at the pictures attached you will see that it is a two bedroom room {the mess is ours}. In the first room there is a “bakers rack”, microwave, small refrigerator, table, two chairs, dresser, closet, space heater, queen size bed and a small tv. The bathroom didn’t have counter space but did have a small shelf on the wall and plenty of towels. The second bedroom had a full size and a single bed. The heat in this room was tricky – it used a fan in the wall from the first bedroom – but we figured out that the space heater was the better way to go otherwise the first bedroom was too warm. I didn’t check to see how the AC would work.

The sheets, bedspreads, towels and bathrooms were very clean!!

All the rooms are non-smoking. Outside our room was a “patio” with tables and chairs. We found this a great place to watch the stars or the sun come over the red rocks and enjoy our cigarettes out there. There was even a grill – I guess you could use it.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

If you want a clean room, helpful staff and great location, this is your place!! We stayed two nights and were more than happy. Our only full day in Sedona, we left the motel at 8:30 am and returned at 9:00 pm. It was perfect, comfortable and had great views – just look at the pictures!! If you want more than a place to sleep and the hotel to be part of your destination – this may not your place.

When we return to Sedona, this is where we will stay, no doubt about it!!

  • Liked — Clean rooms, location, staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We found this hotel late in the evening while travelling. The rooms were impeccably clean, cozy and the staff more than accomodating. The price was even better.

As a traveller for both work and play worldwide, I have stayed in many places and this by far is the best value for money I've ever expierienced. As far as cleanliness, it was just as good if not better than some of the 4 star hotels I've stayed at. Is it for the snobbish? No. It is a very homey, quaint and serene place for you to stay.

Thanks to the owners for providing such a place in an place where the hotels have overrun the population and charge exorborant prices for pretty much the same accomodations. (Spas not included in that statement)

Will I be back, already making plans for next month.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — parking spot
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wrldtrav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.4 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.6 mi away
Cedars Resort
Cedars Resort
#44 of 48 in Sedona
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sedona Motel
Sedona Motel
#35 of 48 in Sedona
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saad Suites
Saad Suites
#28 of 29 in Sedona
32 reviews
6.5 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#6 of 48 in Sedona
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Sedona

Property: La Petite Sedona
Address: 500 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-4212 (Formerly La Vista Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Petite Sedona 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Sedona is a quaint family owned and operated motel in beautiful Uptown Sedona. Also conveniently located within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and galleries. La Petite Sedona unique and pleasant atmosphere is sure to make your stay in Sedona a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Hotel Sedona
La Vista Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing