We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our third time staying at Oak Creek Terrace and we love it! Only problem in room number 5 is that the bathroom really needs remodeling/updating. The shower floor pan is cracked and you can feel squishy water under you. I really think the Jacuzzi should be replaced as well as water has damaged the wall and carpet. It really is a special place with many outdoor areas, very relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 380 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

the rooms are outdated and wish they were a litte nicer.the tub was really creepy and definetky did not use. the grounds are absolutely beautiful. loved sittin outside at night and hearing the creek so peaceful. very quiet and spent hours outside with my boyfriend. we brought are own fishing poles an caught several fish down at the creek. would have liked if there was a continental breakfast it some food offered in the lobby. will definitely stay again when we return

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a beautiful place and the staff was amazing !! We were in room 9 we loved everything ! The outdoor barbeque was great with the gazebo and tv ! We fed the koi fish ,, the running creek ! Then Dairy Queen across the street ! A log in the fireplace for use for no extra charge ! We definately will be back ! From J and M :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mediumatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Out dated and worn out is my best description of room #19. Carpet needed replaced, tile was broken and missing, AC did not work properly, mini fridge did not work properly, the one ice machine on the property could not keep up with the number of guest. I will have to say it was clean and the management was very helpful and nice. The grounds were well taken care of and the access to the creek was nice. They gave us a complimentary park pass for the area. In all fairness the other properties I seen in the canyon in this price range was about the same. Sedona canyon area is your typical tourist area where everything is priced higher than it should be including food. We were there to hike and not spend time in the room so it worked out ok for us. Our favorite hikes were West Fork canyon, and Devils Bridge. The Indian Garden cafe right down the road was a great little place for good coffee and fresh made pastries for breakfast and a sandwich or salad for lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godaddytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed four nights, received a complimentary upgrade to room 11 upon check-in. Made our over due vacation so much better. A real treat to hike a short distance to Oak Creek from our room. Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Resort conveniently located near a café & market. Front desk very helpful, gave us a warm welcome. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 11 if looking for a romantic stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dsteiner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for one night with my 2 teens. Upon checking in, the reception clerk said the room I'd reserved would probably be too small for us three, although it was designed to sleep three, and he gave us a substantial room upgrade, to the A frame cabin, at no additional cost. What chain hotel would ever do this ? It really enhanced our visit. The grounds were lovely- rocking chairs and hammocks all over, gorgeous koi pond, and the rushing waters of Oak Creek immediately off our porch. It was like staying at a friend's cabin. My son borrowed a free loaner finishing pole from the office, and waded in the creek to catch trout. He did not catch one, but luckily the restaurants of Sedona are only about 10 minutes away, in another world. The hotel was quiet, relaxing, perfect... we saw all sorts of birds ( goshawk, Harris hawk, woodpecker, verdin, more) plus tree squirrels, deer and a garter snake. The cabin had a tiny but adequate bathroom, a full kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, all the utensils and appliances needed, and a fireplace and 2 TVs, as well as a large tree-shaded deck over the boulder-strewn creek with a gas BBQ grill. It was a bit rustic and quaint but we loved it. I will definitely return there, this was an absolutely wonderful small hotel, of the type you don't find very often.

Room Tip: Every room is different... some have patios or decks. Our cabin looked over Oak Creek, which some p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pirateliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I took a quick trip to Sedona on a Sunday and planned to stay until Tuesday morning. Unfortunately, Monday afternoon, we found out my wife's grandfather's health had turned gravely ill and we had to get a flight to see him before his death (which ended up occurring on Wednesday). Given the time of season, Oak Creek had several vacancies in other $100/night rooms that were similar to the one we were staying in. However, because we had to cancel our reservation for Monday night after the noon check-out time, they were not able to refund our stay. They said it simply was not hotel policy to refund a stay after noon, and that they would not be able to rent the room out for that night. Given that they had vacancies in adjacent rooms, I asked if they could refund even a portion of the stay -- $50 out of the $100. Still, I was told that hotel policy would not allow it.

After our flight arrived on Tuesday morning near my wife's grandfather, we had to arrange to rent a car from one airport to be dropped off at another. Because we were dropping the car off at another airport, the rental car rate was similar to our room -- $100/day. Because her grandfather died unexpectedly quickly on Wednesday, we were unable to return our rental car at its scheduled time and had to delay a few hours. I expected Budget Rental Car to charge us $100 extra, as they have a similar policy as Oak Creek Terrace. However, given the circumstances, they voided the extra day charge with no argument.

So where would I rank Oak Creek Terrance management? Well below the management of rental car agencies -- which I think is very low.

But otherwise, the property was beautiful. It had amazing (and unique!) access to Oak Creek directly. There are a lot of external swings and hammocks to enjoy the outdoors. You get a Red Rock parking pass that allows for easy access to much of the hiking in Sedona as well as some access to Slide Rock, which is just down the street. Plus, there is a Dairy Queen across the street that gives quick access to coffee and hot food if you're just looking to re-charge after a long day outside.

If you're an outdoors-y hiker type, you'll like Oak Creek. If you're looking for something within walking distance of downtown Sedona, then you might not. Still, Sedona is a very short drive away.

(as a side note, the WiFi signal is very poor; if you want a strong signal, get a room close to the Koi pond -- like room #10 -- but still don't expect consistent and fast connections)

Before the incident with the management, we were certainly going to come back -- and possibly bring other family members and rent one of the larger $300 stand-alone units that have balconies that overlook the creek. Now, it's going to take us a while to get over the extra night they charged us despite having plenty of vacancies... Who would have guessed that such a beautiful place that is so well kept and has such nice, friendly, and helpful staff would have such terrible management?

Room Tip: If you want good WiFi access, get a room near the Koi pond (like #10). The small motel-like rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
9.4 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#29 of 48 in Sedona
593 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#30 of 48 in Sedona
190 reviews
6.2 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
9.8 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 48 in Sedona
911 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Creek Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Creek Terrace Resort

Address: 4548 N State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: $127 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Creek Terrace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular places to stay in Beautiful Oak Creek Canyon With creek frontage access.Our private in room Jacuzzi and fireplaces are great for relaxing at the end of the day,Or unwind on one of our terraces with hammocks, and cozy seating areas with creek and canyon views.Don't forget to bring fury children, as we are pet friendly. Save money with our 6.23% sales tax as to in the city with 14% to 15%. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Oak Creek Terrace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Creek Terrace Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing