We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictures are great but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sedona Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sedona Bear Lodge
Ranked #16 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pictures are great but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pros:
The hosts were extremely nice and the service was wonderful.
Breakfast was very tasty and had a great variety to choose from

Cons:
The jacuzzi had one of twenty or so jets that worked.
The Hacienda room that we stayed in was average. The floors were uneven and the bed was simply a box spring & mattress sitting on the ground from what I could tell.
The doors needed to be shoved or yanked hard on to open.
In a very "residential" area, if you know what I mean. Not the types of B&B I have been to before (Moab, Midway, York, UK)
From what I could tell, there were no views of anything from the house besides 75ft tall trees.

Overall:
I felt that paying $155 was too much for the quality of housing we received. The website made it sound like a fairy tale. "When you enter our lodge, you will also be greeted by hand-made teddy bears that are nestled in waiting to be cuddled.". It was as I rated it- Average

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtl578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masumi O, Owner at Sedona Bear Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We thank you for your honest comments and opinions. We will definitely take your comments and do the necessary changes to satisfy our guests as best as possible. We will be in the process of redesigning the room to a different theme "Zen Style". A platform will be installed with bamboo flooring. We hope to have you back someday and enjoy our new room. We will be working on our jacuzzi after this project is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
82
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myles & Masumi are exceptionally friendly and helpful, providing detailed local info to help you make the most of your trip. Very comfortable rooms with many thoughtful extra touches. Delicious & varied breakfasts and home baked goods. You feel really valued and very well looked after as a guest here. Would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangedeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myles and Masumi went out of their way to make sure my wife and our giant dog had a great stay. Fantastic southwestern breakfast, comfortable rooms, and a great backyard with hammocks and other southwestern decor. Easy to find. Close to all the hikes and the owners made some great recommendation for hikes to suit our skill level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disinence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just spent 2 nights with Myles and Masumi at their quaint and homey B & B. The rooms were immaculate, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast was fantastic. It is located just off of SR 89A on the West Side of town in a residental neighborhood and very near to many of the trail heads off of and near Dry Creek Road. As other reviewers mentioned Myles was very helpful in giving us information about hikes and even leant us a book with gave great descriptions and directions. Because of the convenient location we were able to come back in the middle of the day and relax in the comfortable back yard in padded swings or hammocks. There was also a very comfortable living room area. Staying with Myles and Masumi was like being with good friends who were considerate and interesting and perfect hosts. I would definately stay here again. .

Room Tip: We stayed the first night in the Garden room with a balcony. The room was very tiny as was the show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janecopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights this week at the Sedona Bear Lodge and found it to be the perfect home for our visit. Our hosts, Myles and Masumi, were very pleasant and, thanks to their research of hikes, tours and restaurants, they were able to make honest and helpful recommendations. Although we don't have any dietary restrictions, we observed their carefully prepared breakfasts served to those who did. Breakfast each morning was delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely stay at the Sedona Bear Lodge on our next visit to Sedona. Thank you M&M!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Country Garden room which is next to the dining room. Our hosts had warned us that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The trip to Sedona was truly a special experience because of Myles & Masumi, the host of the lodge. I had several dietary restrictions & they were still able to create delicious breakfasts for me. I have stayed at quite a few B & B's but this one stands out from the rest. The lodge is on the west side of sedona in a lovely, wooded, quiet,.area. The gracious hosts & entire setting make this an excellant place to stay in sedona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondaOceansideCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just stayed at the Sedona Bear Lodge for two nights and had a wonderful time. It was like staying with friends. Very helpful hosts. A clean and comfortable room. A nice location near excellent hikes. Simple, filling and delicious breakfasts. It was a great stay. This place should be the number one ranked B&B in Sedona!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3monthtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.6 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Bear Lodge

Property: Sedona Bear Lodge
Address: 65 Piki Dr, Sedona, AZ 86336-4345 (Formerly Territorial House Old West B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful West Sedona on 3/4 acre and nestled in its own quiet and peaceful atmosphere of Juniper and Cottonwood trees. You will awake to the aroma of fresh ground coffee and a delicious gourmet breakfast served with home-baked breads or muffins. What you’ll find at Sedona Bear Lodge is a warm and friendly place where you can relax and feel at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing