We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, including over New Years. We loved the location as it intersects 89 and Dry Creek Road, so for hiking this part of Sedona, it was perfect. It is close to many restaurants and the local movie theatre in case you want to go to the movies for a night.

Breakfast was good, nothing fancy, could use some mixed fruit, but plentiful and enough protein.

The outdoor hot tub was perfect after a day on the trails, it was large, very clean and the perfect temperature.

All staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area, both for places to eat as well as local fav hikes.

All in all, we know where we are staying next time in Sedona.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for a great review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Southwest Inn and a great time in Sedona!

Going down Dry Creek road is by far my favorite place to drive to get a better feel of how beautiful Sedona is. There are a lot of hiking trails and also a great place to take amazing pictures up close to the Red Rocks.

Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    200
    63
    21
    14
See reviews for
182
400
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Southwest Inn on our way back home to Los Angeles. We wanted to stay in Sedona and the Southwest Inn seemed to offer the best value and had some pet-friendly rooms available for our 2 cats. The room was great with its own gas fireplace and large bathroom with whirlpool tub and separate shower. The upper level rooms have better views of the red cliffs, but we were only stopping here for a night and the lower level room was fine. The free breakfast was very good and included some delicious breakfast burritos as well as hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, bread and muffins. The small breakfast room was very clean.

Room Tip: Pet fee was $30.00/night for our 2 cats. Upper level rooms have better views of the red cliffs sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased to hear that you and your pets had a great time at the Southwest Inn and in Sedona!

Our property is pet friendly, but we only have certain rooms for pets. You had a great room! The jetted tub is amazing after a long day and im sure your cats loved the warmth of the fire place. I hope you also got to try our great bean burritos. The bean burritos are a great way to start your mornings. They are a great energy boost!

Once again Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Southwest Inn. I chose it based upon user ratings, and I was not disappointed. The room was clean, neat, and comfortable, with a beautiful view of the red hills of Sedona. The grounds were very well manicured, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the south-end of town, away from the tourist-congested areas. The room was equipped with a gas fireplace, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and wi-fi. Every morning, there is a continental breakfast equipped with Make-it-yourself waffles, black bean breakfast burritos, and oatmeal. I found the young man who works the night shift particular helpful, and Kenny the groundsman to be welcoming and warm. I will be returning to Sedona, and the Southwest Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJsurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable big room with surprise gas fire.
I wouldn't call it elegant or a boutique hotel ( in the European sense) but perfect for a night.
Breakfast was a bit weird but actually fine..do it yourself waffles and burritos to warm up....
Coffee and tea is impossible for non-American.. Warm water ( not boiled ) supplied.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Loved this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend after thanksgiving and enjoyed our experience for many reasons: the staff was very knowledgable and recommended hikes and restaurants for us. Breakfast was available for free and there was a plentiful selection. The only downfall, if you can even call it that is the location. It's far from downtown...probably a five minute drive, but if you have a car and don't mind not being walking distance to things its great!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brennareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and having a great time! We try very hard, and we love it when we connect the value of what we have to offer to those travelers who appreciate us! The location of the Inn is one of the great places to be. We are right down the road from amazing hikes, and not in the middle of all craziness in uptown. We love our guest and treat them like family. We are willing to do anything and everything to keep our guest happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were not disappointed. It is a small hotel, looks pretty unassuming. We had a room on the upper floor. The room had everything (flat screen tv, fireplace, nice balcony with a couple of chairs, fridge and wi-fi). The only thing that seemed to be missing was a safe. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and pillows looked fresh and inviting. The breakfast was included. The room where the breakfast is available is comfortable, cheerful and kept spotlessly clean. Good choice of cereals, breads, yogurt and even fresh "make yourself" waffles. The coffee was fresh and hot. This hotel almost had the ambience of a "bed and breakfast" place.
Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful with directions and booking activities.
It is located a little away from the downtown area. Which is a good thing. However if you have a room close to the highway, you may find the highway traffic noise a little distracting. On the positive side, the view from the balcony is fabulous.
To sum it up, we had a very comfortable stay in a hotel which is clean, efficent and well run.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor and towards the end which is furthest away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the positive review and staying at the Inn!

It makes me happy to hear that you and your wife had a great time and enjoyed everything we have to offer. We love it when we connect the value of what we have to offer to those travelers who appreciate us. The location of the Inn (I think) is perfect. We are located right next to Dry Creek Road, which is the access to the Wilderness Canyons of Sedona.

We are very pleased you stayed with us and hopefully we will see you sometime in the future

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This motel/inn is out of the flow in the west end of town. We stayed in a king room on the top floor near the back- quiet. The upstairs rooms are nice as they have back entrances with stairs for each 2 rooms. Pleasant landscaping and walkway. The room was very comfortable with gas fireplace, robes, fridge, and balcony. Red rock views are nice but slightly blocked by wires. It's a great location for hiking..we did Boynton Canyon and the vortex there- beautiful. Also for a day trip to Jerome.Great dinner at Dahl and Deluca just down the road. We ate breakfast at the Coffee Pot each morning since we're not into continental breakfast but the Southwest Inn breakfast area is nice and choices looked good. Staff were very nice and helpful. Would stay again- good value for Sedona.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#27 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Property: Southwest Inn at Sedona
Address: 3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#16 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing