We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabins, friendly innkeepers, quiet setting along the river”
Review of Briar Patch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briar Patch Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Briar Patch. We were 3 women looking to relax after the holidays and that's exactly what we did here, sitting for hours eating breakfast with a beautiful woodsy view and congenial innkeepers. There is a creek with benches and rocks alongside to sit. Overall this is a wonderful place to breath in the natural beauty of Oak Creek.
Our cabin was cozy and warm with a fireplace and plenty of wood for the cool January weather. There was even a rocking chair next to the fire. A kitchen made it easy to whip up a snack when we didn't want to leave the inn. We were lucky enough to see the Javelinas out for a stroll in the evening. We met a couple there who come every year in January to regroup and start off their new year fresh and rejuvenated. He said he and his wife had been coming for 20 years and loved to stay in the same cabin right on the creek. They were very happy!

Room Tip: Consider a cabin overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear that our guests relate to the peacefulness of this place. It truly is sanctuary to step away from the fray. We hope see you grace our front doors again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 409 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We just got back from the Briar Patch Inn (Jan. 14th-17th) and it was excellent! They are located off the beaten path which is perfect for us since we prefer to be away from the crowds and overdeveloped tourist areas. Our cabin was beautiful and we loved being able to use the fireplace since it was during the winter months. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful giving us good recommendations for restaurants and things to see. Had breakfast each morning next to the fire place in the main lodge. Each day our room was cleaned and someone kindly removed the ashes from our fireplace and replaced them with fresh wood that was match-ready while we were at breakfast. The property and location are excellent.

Room Tip: Not every cabin allows you to park your car right outside the door, this was important to us so we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverrat3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

What a kind review....thank you so much. We love to be a part of the escape of everyday life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My son and I stayed at briar Patch for two nights on a mini road trip around Arizona. It's a beautiful place to stay - we had the Oak cottage. Fantastic fire and I would recommend staying in and cosying up to a home cooked meal in your cabin. The surroundings are lovely - very near the creek and the gorgeous Oak Creek Canyon.
Fantastic dining room / office - and a great breakfast all be it vegi. The staff are extremely helpful and the atmosphere here is relaxing and quiet.
It wasn't warm enough when we were here but I would love to use the swimming hole which is in front of the cabins!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback. We hope that we will be able to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The whole experience was truly a great surprise. The cabins (eagle) are designed with comfort in mind. The wood burning fireplaces and the views are not matched anywhere in Sedona. If you want to refresh and get away from it all this is the place! The staff treats you like family. Won't stay anywhere else in Sedona other than Briar Patch Inn

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VegasIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We LOVE the Briar Patch Inn! We stay in the same cabin we did when we married and come every anniversary. We just had our 9th anniversary October 22, 2013. We love "coming home" and not seeing any changes. We love the foot, the living quarters, the sheep, the ambiance, the sounds, the smells, that there are no TV's or phones in the rooms, that we know the owner and staff. Everyone is super friendly, REAL, down to earth, not fake, genuine, and takes note of how our individual lives change from year to year. Observant is the right word for the owner and staff. Nothing could be better about The Briar Patch Inn. Nothing. God willing we will be 90 years old celebrating our anniversary together in years to come. Thank you Rob and Team for providing us a place to remember when we married and to reconnect with ourselves year to year. We will always be a fan. See you in October 2014.
Hugs,
Karen and Todd Herzog

Room Tip: Each cabin is different. Find your "inner self", pick your cabin, and then stick to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

At Briar Patch, we have had the special privilege of welcoming back many long time guests. Todd and Karen (and now little Sander) are very precious to us and we look forward to having them back every year. Thank you for making what we do worth while....after all, it is about making connections. See you next year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time staying at The Briar Patch and I was not disappointed! It's a magical place and perfect for reflecting and unwinding. The cabins are so quaint, with wood burning fireplaces! Absolutely love this place!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stay at this Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights. Rather than rooms each visitor gets a rustic cabin. The cabins had fireplaces and comfortable beds but A/C was an old window units so don't go during hot weather. The breakfast buffet was good but the same basic menu every morning. Be prepared to have your own flashlight if you leave your cabin at night, there is no lights outside and you will need to negotiate narrow paths.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

As always, we are grateful for the feedback from our guests, after all, you are why we are here.
Yes, we are “off the beaten path.” We are located three miles from Sedona proper and placed in Oak Creek Canyon among the trees and a babbling brook. We may not be for those who would prefer to stay close to the “action.” We also have no phones or televisions in the cabin, which we consider to be a plus.
As far as lighting on the property, we intentionally have low yellow lighting, which is throughout the grounds, to minimize light pollution. Arizona is known for star gazing and we try not to compete with the quality of viewing. Also, we do provide flashlights and place one in each cabin. If, however, yours was missing….we sincerely apologize for not catching that detail.
We maintain a core breakfast menu that we think provides variety; homemade granola, steel cut oats, hard and soft boiled eggs, sun dried plums in orange cinnamon sauce, South African seven grain bread, orange juice, coffee and assorted teas. We do change out our quiche everyday (jalapeño quiche muffins, tomato feta, vegetable, chili relleno, and tortilla) and our baked good (variety of muffins, honey bran bundt cake, cranberry nut torte.
We do have wall units in all of the cabins for air-conditioning and seem to be successful with keeping our cabins cool in even in our hottest months. If, however, the unit in this cabin was not meeting your needs, that is an issue that needs to be addressed. Our hope is that our guests inform us immediately of anything that is not working for them so that we can take corrective measures right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.7 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.8 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,183 reviews
7.8 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
5.2 mi away
The Suites at Sedona
The Suites at Sedona
#2 of 29 in Sedona
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Address: 3190 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $264 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Briar Patch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Inn Sedona
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing