We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great except for one bad member of the team...”
Review of Briar Patch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briar Patch Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our wedding getaway at briar patch inn started off beautifully. Great service. A cozy large cabin to accommodate our guests. Amazing scenery for pictures. Being frequent visitors from Phoenix to oak creek canyon we were excited to have found such a great place to use for our getaways. However the next morning things took a turn for the worst. A male "inn keeper" made my party of 6 and two small children feel like intruders when getting our complimentary breakfast. And at checkout actually accused me of being dishonest about the number of people in our party. Then when I mentioned we found long hairs in one of the beds said he found that hard to believe. I have never been treated so poorly at any hotel restaurant store etc...so disappointed...:( I have also never written a negative review. I am sad that my joyous occasion had such a bummer ending. I would recommend the place if this this "inn keeper" were not there to make people feel uncomfortable or accuse them of being dishonest.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank desertsrtar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

When dealing with any issues, our least favorite is that our guests have felt like they have been treated with insensitivity. We at the Briar Patch strive very hard to be outgoing, warm and accommodating to all of our guests. This particular issue was addressed and we have all taken this as an opportunity to grow and expand our awareness.

Of course we have informed our housekeepers to diligently inspect the linen when placing it into the cabin. Even though we feel our linen provider is of the best quality, there can be the “human factor” that are inevitable. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Again, we apologize for the unhappy ending to your stay, may we have the opportunity in the future to make sure your experience is all that you deserve here at Briar Patch Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been returning to Briar Patch, mostly yearly for over 20 years. The consistent service keeps us returning as well as the nicely appointed cabins and their close proximity to Oak Creek. The grounds are beautiful with many places to tuck away and relax with a book or just enjoy the beautiful setting. The breakfast is lovely and just the right amount of food with great options.

Room Tip: We like the smaller cabins-this time our cabin was by the road with very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Briar Patch Inn was fabulous! The staff was super friendly, the grounds were beautiful and our cabin was perfect. I wish we could have stayed there for a week. One night just isn't enough. Such a peaceful place that gives you the warm fuzzies! I can't wait to go back. Sedona is definitely my happy place and the Briar Patch Inn made it that much more amazing for me. I have absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsziggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is the perfect retreat. Awesome atmosphere, meals and views. Hope to be back soon. The staff is very helpful when needed and then out of sight when not. Must say the sound of the creek can not be beat from the deckhouse. Massage by the creek a perfect touch.

Room Tip: Every cabin is special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just love this place. We seem to make it there a couple of times a year. Very cozy and private. Its cabins are nestled down next to the creek amongst lovely shade trees and lots of climbing ivy everywhere. Its rustic but very well done and very charming.The staff is warm and welcoming and they serve a really great breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikesmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

5 days, 10 friends and not a single complaint from anyone!!!! Peaceful, beautiful, excellent service, yummy breakfast, friendly staff, all around wonderful place to stay. Close to town yet you feel like you're a million miles from anyone. They provide plenty of firewood which made for long afternoons and evenings by the fireplace.

Room Tip: The sycamore room was very roomy and in the winter was great with its carpeted floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnomies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our Christmas stay at Briar Patch was my fiance's and my second visit (third if you count the time we stayed elsewhere but had breakfast here).

Others have commented favorably and we concur and won't repeat the superlatives. The fact that we've gone back tells you that we like the place but there are a couple of nits to pick. On our first visit in August, our room was pretty toasty. We are from Tucson, so heat isn't a foreign thing, but for those unprepared, be advised that the A/C can be barely adequate. But these are rustic cabins so I suppose it goes with the territory.

On this trip, it was very cold (for we Tucsonans) rainy with some snow. The baseboard heating was barely adequate, but our room did have a fireplace (cleaned daily by the staff) and a good supply of wood. What would have been appreciated was more kindling and paper to get the fire going. Another thing is that the bathroom was very cold. These are cabins with leaky single-pane windows and the bathroom was a long way from any adequate heat source. The ceiling-mounted heat lamp wasn't much use. We heard other guests complaining about being cold, so our concerns aren't extraordinary. Again, we understand this is a rustic venue, but it is also $250+ a night so a little more comfort isn't too much to ask for in my opinion.

Two other nits are 1) there should be some deep cleaning done once in a while. Something fell under our bed and when we went to retrieve it we noted the floor was filthy. There were also cobwebs on the bathroom door. And speaking of the bathroom, rustic or not, some larger and softer towels would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AZ_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.3 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
4.6 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Address: 3190 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $264 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Briar Patch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona
Briar Patch Inn Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing