We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Relax and Renew”
Review of Briar Patch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Relax and Renew”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Briar Patch is quiet and beautiful. The staff is helpful and friendly. My cabin was cozy and well-kept. The breakfast was delicious. I plan on returning when I need to getaway to renew my spirit. For my money this is the best B&B in Sedona.

Jackie T.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
199
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Briar Patch is a great escape. Staff are very warm and inviting, but you can still maintain privacy. Cabins are comfortable but without frills. Full kitchens are not equipped with much, and BBQs are shared.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel00Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed here in March for the last 3 years. Bluejay cabin is a cozy studio cabin with a bathroom and full kitchen. The cabin is perfectly rustic (no tv etc) but you can still get your emails if absolutely necessary. The staff is friendly and invisible while cleaning your room and restocking your firewood. Great location right on the creek. Breakfast and afternoon snacks are a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I reviewed many resorts in Sedona when planning our visit, but nothing suited my fancy. Then I happened upon Briar Patch Inn. The reviews were good and it sounded quaint and quiet. After 8 hours of traveling, we arrived and were instantly captivated by the beautiful setting of the property tucked into the woodlands and away from the bustle of Sedona. We stayed in Casa de Piedra, situated right on Oak Creek. It was clean as a whistle and provided extremely comfortable accommodations, with a small kitchen, living area, adequate bath with great water pressure and a king bed with a view right onto the creek. We slept with the door open every night, lulled to a good night's sleep by the sound of the water rushing along. Briar Patch Inn serves a lovely breakfast, offering homemade breads and muffins, oatmeal, fruit, juice, eggs and hot beverages, which we brought out on trays to tables on a patio overlooking the woods and creeks. A 2-person combo performed soothing music on guita and violin...a great way for us to start our day. Each staff member was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed their recommendations for dining in Sedona, but were always happy to return to BPI at the end of our day. We hope to return to AZ someday and would stay at BPI in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank emb80406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a great place for a romantic escape from the city. The cabins were rustic, warm and inviting (BUT not TOO warm, mind you - we were there in the middle of the summer, it was around 100 degrees, but we didn't feel the heat in the cabin). It was not exactly camping, there was a full breakfast buffet to be enjoyed to the sounds of the babbling creek, as well as a violin/guitar duo (whose cds are available in the cabins in case you don't get enough at breakfast). The swimming hole is where you find your more crunchy nature here, if that is what you are after, but get there early to claim your spot on the rocks. Wooly and Bully are the resident sheep and are allowed to roam, but keep to themselves. The other guests were hardly to be seen or heard, except during the breakfast, which felt more like an upscale resort than a cute little place tucked in the woods. BUT IT IS A CUTE LITTLE PLACE TUCKED IN THE WOODS!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntShonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

You know those Thomas Kinkaide paintings -- rustic cottages peeking out from behind lush greenery, winding pathways through peaceful countryside, twinkling lights at twilight? Well, this is it.

We stayed at the Briar Patch Inn for 3 nights as part of a Southwest driving trip. We had been to Sedona before, but never overnight. We chose this hotel party because of good reviews on TripAdvisor, and partly because we wanted to stay right on Oak Creek. It exceeded our expectations.

We were a family party of 5, so we booked two cabins, both on the creek, with decks right on the water. It was perfect. The cabins were both clean and nicely furnished in a southwest/artistic/folk style, not luxurious but comfortable. Decently equipped kitchens, with a barbecue outside, Both had fire places and fire pits, but because of the drought they were not available for use.

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The place is laid out very thoughtfully. Even though you are right on the road, once you drive down the driveway, the noise goes away because of the lower elevation, the soothing sound of rushing water from Oak Creek, and the lush landscaping.

The 19 cabins are connected by winding paths through beautiful settings. There is a feeling of privacy between each cabin. You can swing on hammocks, see the sheep that "mow" the lawn, or maybe get a glimpse of the blue heron or deer of javalina that frequent the property.

The office serves as the breakfast buffet setting; lovely old wood construction,plenty of seating outside right at the creek, nice healthy choices in the morning, accompanied from time to time with live music. Plus they have a very generous afternoon cheese/cracker/cookie/fruit spread from 1 pm to 5 pm or later.

One of our party booked a massage in the creekside spa gazebo, which he enjoyed very much. You can also have facials there, or in your cabin.

This might not be the place for everyone. There is no pool or hot tub (although there is a swimming hole right next to the property), no fitness center (although you will have a discount card for a day use fitness center in Sedona). Cell phone service is nonexistent to iffy, and the wifi in the office lounge was not very good at least not on our equipment. There is a payphone on site for emergencies.There are no televisions in the rooms, but there are cd players and selection of new agey/80's music.

The staff was lovely and helpful, they helped us with an extended stay situation and lent us sweaters for our nighttime star gazing excursion.

I loved it there and I would love to go back. It will not be your cheapest option, but it is unique and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdctosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is the most peaceful, relaxing place we've stayed. Think lodge-our cabin had a kitchen which is great as we like to bring some of our own healthy meals (there's a health food store about 15 min into town - New Frontiers) there are also BBQ grills spread out through out the complex. The bed was very comfortable. plenty of water flowing in the creek end of July raining season. breakfast with music next the the creek in the morning is provided. There's a big shaded grassy area with hammocks to relax in. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: If you are cooking not all cabins have ovens, so ask. we loved the cabin next to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.7 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
4.6 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
4.7 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#5 of 48 in Sedona
773 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Property: Briar Patch Inn
Address: 3190 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona
Briar Patch Inn Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing