We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”
Review of Elote Cafe

Elote Cafe
Ranked #5 of 195 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Despite waiting over an hour for a table, this was one of the best meals I have ever had. While we waited for our table we used the time wisely to try a few of their amazing margaritas. This was definitely the best Mexican restaurant I've ever been to, and I used to live in Texas. If you are in Sedona, like Mexican food, you'd be crazy to miss out on this place.

Helpful?
Thank BringingRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,929
    711
    259
    81
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescorr, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is where we dine traditionally on our anniversary. I don't care if they don't take reservations. Standing in line waiting for opening in the heat is worth it (and many others agree). The food preparation and presentation are beyond description. Our server's (I've forgotten her name, rats) knowledge of the menu was unbelievable. We'll be back next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Was there with large group, atmosphere friendly, service great and food delicious. Chef/owner came out to say hello. Will definitely return on next Sedona visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newmaninseinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chef is a genius”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our first time at the Elote Cafe, and I must say that the chef is a culinary genius. Just about everything on the menu is different in some exotic way, starting with the blood orange margaritas [$9] which you have to try at least once. They have an appetizer of fire roasted corn with spicy mayo, lime, and cotija cheese which is very delicious, and I recommend you try it also. Entrees are various and start at $18. Their menu can be viewed at elotecafe. com/sedona-restaurant-dinner-menu. html .

We were a party of four adults, and all were very happy with the food and excellent service. The dining room, however, suffers from being very noisy due in part to the lack of carpeting; it has only tile. There are no drapes but shades instead, which don't help much, if at all, hence the downgrade. Since this is a very upscale establishment, one would think it would be designed to be a little less noisy so couples could converse.

They are open only for dinner on Tues. - Sat. at 5pm, and people start lining up by 4:15. They do not take reservations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sflbib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best in Sedona! Not your typical Mexican restaurant!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is truly one of the best restaurants we've been to. And we go on vacation monthly all over the country! I was skeptical at first, since I am "allergic" to Mexican food (tex mex - taco - fajitas - cheese overload stuff). But I was so glad that we decided to try Elote. Ended up going there two nights in a row. We substituted veggies instead of their rice & beans and as simple as the veggies sound...theirs was the best!! Everything was delish. And don't forget the mojitos! Worth the 30mins wait for table. Can't wait to go back the end of this year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2d1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing