We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wide open Spaces”
Review of M Diamond Ranch

M Diamond Ranch
Ranked #2 of 94 Tours in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse back trailrides and Dinner Cookouts. Guest House. Wagon rides pulled by draft horses. Small groups and personal attention. Special western events for larger groups. The real deal...Not a stage show or wannabe cowboy actors. Learn authentic western history and heritage on a 100 year old working cattle ranch. Enjoy scenic trails, dark starry skies endless views in a peaceful rural environment with abundant wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wide open Spaces”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A trail ride at sunset on a 42,000 acre cattle ranch. A steak dinner with live entertainment and a sunset to big for a wide angle camera. What's not to like? Awesome!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny411_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localArizona, Owner at M Diamond Ranch, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
A lot of our guests have rarely seen the open spaces that the West is known for. Glad you enjoyed them as part of your visit and thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    60
    7
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic morning out on the range”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We did the morning ride and breakfast and absolutely loved it. Our family of four are not frequent horse riders but the people at the ranch made us immediately comfortable and the horses were both beautiful and calm. The ride was a lot of fun -- gave us a taste of being out on the open range and the views are tremendous. Breakfast was outstanding -- delicious biscuits, eggs, gravy and salsa. And dessert. We didn't eat again until dinner! I'd recommend a visit here to anyone who's in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localArizona, Owner at M Diamond Ranch, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We think the 360 degree views on our 1 hour Ridge Trail are pretty spectacular, so we're glad you enjoyed them. Our morning cookout, Ranch Adventure Day, has become quite popular, and we know you won't leave hungry! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstable
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great Choice Activity!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I did the sunset horse trails followed by a coy boy BBQ. The horses were all well trained and new exactly what they should be doing. My bf has never ridden so he was nervous at first and by the end he was ready to book a 2hr ride next time! Everyone was friendly, the ride was great and the scenery beautiful. The music/guitar was fun (great guy) and the food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localArizona, Owner at M Diamond Ranch, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your ride. Bring your boyfriend again for his 2nd ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early Mother's Day”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My daughter, Lori Leachman, gifted me with this adventure on April 2nd for the ride and steak cookout. We both had such a fun time and want to do this again when in the area. The friendly staff, good food and stellar views make this a "Must Do". I rode today at Wampee Stables in SC and sure did miss the red rock country! Paula

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulal339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localArizona, Owner at M Diamond Ranch, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
hi Paula,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. When you return, you may enjoy a multi-generation family stay in our Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Overall wonderful experience for our young family!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We experienced the M Diamond Ranch over spring break. We have a family of five, our children are 5, 8, and 12. My husband went out on the 1 hour ride with my two oldest children (he exceeds the 200 lb limit that a previous review mentioned and had no issues with riding a horse that fit his size), this was my kids' favorite part of the entire week long trip! I was able to walk alongside my 5 year old while she rode Spot, a large pony. We enjoyed learning about the ranch as she was introduced to some of the other animals there, including a darling miniature pony, and a cute donkey. She was able to hand-feed Spot a couple of treats after the ride. The other workers were very friendly and fun to visit with while we waited for the rest of the family to return. They gave each kid one of the old horse shoes to take home as a souvenier, the kids loved that! When our family returned we took a wagon ride up the hill to a wonderful cookout. We really enjoyed listening to Alvie Self play his guitar and sing old classic country songs that we grew up listening to (Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, etc...some of our favorites were songs he had written himself). The food was awesome, prime rib for the adults and burgers for the kids. We especially liked the fresh salsa that was served while our meal was cooking. There was a place for the kids to learn roping, and a fire was going in the pit as it got darker and we sat around listening to Alvie. He closed by singing Happy Trails. This experience was very authentic, and all of the staff was wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlyS840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localArizona, Owner at M Diamond Ranch, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Well, Spot has sure made a lot of new friends over this last Easter Break! Just want to point out for others who may read this, that we serve bone-in rib eye steaks, not prime rib. Glad that you enjoyed the fresh salsa and the rest of your visit, and especially glad that you found the whole experience authentic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Diamond Ranch also viewed

 

Been to M Diamond Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing