We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated #1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sedona Cathedral Hideaway
Ranked #17 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank clarysage78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BurbankTandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Bed and Breakfast? Luxury Inn? A nice cross between the two!

Kathy and Larry have created and filled a niche in Sedona, offering a very high-end lodging experience for their guests. Theirs is a unique, purpose-built house with only two rooms for rent. Having only two rooms keeps the place quiet, and makes it seems like you're staying with friends rather than at an Inn. The house and rooms were designed specifically to offer this style of accommodation, rather than making a B&B out of an existing house.

Each room is large (approx 450-500 sq ft) with huge showers and jacuzzi tub for two (or more if that's your thing). The rooms have a pleasant living area with gas fireplace (not required in August), flat screen TV, XM radio piped into the room, and a large walk-in closet. Beds were extremely comfortable with unique soft/hard adjustment on either side (can't remember the brand name). The rooms, and the house itself, are very tastefully decorated. Living in Sedona one could easily succumb to typical southwest style decorating and furnishings, and thankfully they have resisted the urge - doing so would make it a little tacky - their upscale chic style adds class to the place.

The lower room opens on to the rear deck, offering a good view of Cathedral Rock, while the upper room has its own small private deck, and commanding views of Cathedral Rock from the large picture windows.

Around the grounds are various birdfeeders, always well attended by the local avian scene - a small labyrinth, bocce court, large chess set, etc. etc. All make it very peaceful to hang around the place. Get a bottle of wine, sit on the deck, and watch Cathedral Rock change colour as the sun goes down - you won't regret it.

For breakfast, Kathy and Larry take your order the night before from a selection in their book (or ask them for pretty much anything you might want). The food is thoughtfully prepared, and the portion sizes are just right. The constant attention to detail is nice.

During our visit Kathy walked us over to the park near Cathedral Rock and showed us the best viewpoints - great service - they also made dinner reservations for us, again a nice touch.

The place is a very nice alternative to an upscale hotel - I would definitely stay here again. It made our first visit to Sedona absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ozcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Anyone that stays at the Cathedral Hideaway will fall in love with the city and the inn. This place is located walking distance from Red Rock Crossings and has the most beautiful view of the Cathedral Mountain. Unlike other B&B's that we had stayed at over the years, Kathy and Larry lets us choose a wide variety of their gourmet breakfasts. It was sooo delicious....especially Larry's HOMEMADE ICECREAM!!!! The Hideaway is the best kept secret of Sedona and we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luvtotravellux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed with Kathy & Larry for our 1st wedding anniversary. It's hard to say what the best part of the trip was because it was all so wonderful.This trip was the perfect combination of relaxation,hiking, dining ,romance all with the most peaceful atmosphere We've ever experienced. The house is gorgeous and very clean, the room (Evergreen) was perfect. We had the best breakfasts on the deck each morning and all of the recommendations from Kathy & Larry came in handy. We hope to visit this spectacular place again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mpfit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Sedona Cathedral Hideaway is nestled in a great spot in Sedona with an awesome view of Cathedral Rock (the area's most photographed rock formation). We stayed 4 nights with Kathy & Larry and we were very well cared for. We had breakfast on the back terrace each morning while we watched the sun rise over Cathedral Rock and the birds eat from the nearby feeders. We tried something new each day for breakfast and everything we were served was absolutely delicious and the presentation was delightful. A partial list includes Larry's egg pizza, Kathy's awesome oatmeal, blueberry pancakes, hash browns, fresh fruit (it varied each day), scrambled eggs with salsa, organic milk, and the list goes on. Just to keep things fun, the place settings were also different each day.

We went on numerous hikes and several originated right from the Hideaway. The entrance to the National Park is within walking distance. When we left early in the morning, Larry would have water bottles and fresh fruit ready for us in the refrigerator to take on our hike. He also loaned us a hiking bag to use.

The rooms are very well appointed and the Sleep Comfort beds are extremely comfortable. The linens and robes were very comfortable. The home is impeccably clean and well decorated. Each room has great views and the landscaping is well done. Upstairs, you have access to two balconies and a gameroom with games and exercise equipment.

Kathy & Larry are very familiar with the area and provided us with numerous suggestions for dining, entertainment, and activities. They have copies of local menus and brochures for reference. They made all required reservations for us and all of their recommendations were great.

Spa services are available at the Hideaway and we took advantage of the pampering. Kathy gives an excellent facial. We also had the paraffin wax hand treatment. They arranged for an in-room massage with a licensed massage therapist - it was great.

In the evenings we enjoyed special treats like homemade ice cream, cake, or fresh fruit and lots of enjoyable conversation with two very fine and gracious hosts.

Sedona Cathedral Hideaway is a wonderful place to stay. We highly recommend it and look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.8 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,169 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Suites at Sedona
The Suites at Sedona
#2 of 29 in Sedona
1,173 reviews
6.4 mi away
Enchantment Resort
Enchantment Resort
#9 of 49 in Sedona
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Cathedral Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Cathedral Hideaway

Address: 30 Serendipity Trl, Sedona, AZ 86336-9167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $274 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$249+$279 Sedona, diet friendly, gluten free, if desired, B&B-A private sanctuary with spa. Personal attention like nowhere else, with two large luxury suites with amenities you've never dreamed of. Everything designed for your personal needs and taste. A one-of-a-kind where indulgence meets peace and tranquility on a breathtaking wooded acre; on a hill overlooking the famous spiritual vortex, Cathedral Rock. This high energy spot helps to easily release stress and anxiety. Let the star studded sky, wildlife, happy, cage free chickens that lay organic eggs, and friendly hummingbirds, win your heart. A heart shaped labyrinth sprinkled with crystals, will bring you focus and awareness. Experience our medicine wheel to balance you with all of natures elements that surround it. Cathedral Rock is the "Heart of Sedona". We see it from entire property and home. Walk to Oak Creek and Red Rock Crossing in five minutes. A destination you will always remember as your number one choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sedona Cathedral Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing