We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timo Rocks Fine Dining”
Review of Timo

Timo
Ranked #79 of 195 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Timo Rocks Fine Dining”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had a really good dinner there the other night with two friends. Tried their Dry Aged N.Y. steak and they had Rosemary Chicken with Cauliflower Au Gratin and fingerling potatoes. Great atmosphere and a nice little bar right there in the restaurant. The meat was tender, tasty and the veggie was tops. My guests loved their chicken and fingerlings.

Usually resort restaurants (this one is located in the Los Abrigados Resort) are not good enough to be considered a stand-alone-restaurant but Timo stands its ground. If you're a guest at the resort you don't have to travel far to get a good meal. If you're visiting, check it out.

Terrific service. The servers know their wines and are right there on the money filling glasses the instant they empty. Nice place and i will go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasAcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good enough for a bite and beer”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Service = 5 Patrick
Food = 3 good not great
Location = 4 in a resort

So overall good for a late night meal but not a dinner destination.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant with Delicious food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The restaurant is very inviting. The menu has many interesting items on it. The wait staff is very accommodating and helpful. We started with the hummus platter that had olives, crackers, cheese onions and oh yes hummus. Wonderful choice for an appetizer. My son ordered two appetizers for his dinner. One of which was the mussels and the other was the ostrich meat balls. Both were delicious and he loved every bite. My daughter, husband and I ordered the planked salmon. The salmon could have been better. It was on the dry side and a bit overcooked. They also take the skin off before cooking. The skin is one of the best parts and would have kept the salmon moist during cooking. I prepare this dish alot at home and this is one of the tricks to keeping it moist. Still all and all it was a great meal in a very pretty room.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VIvian666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting menu - tons of wines”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This seems to be a wine bar with selections of small plates and larger ones. But they are not grouped by size but by type of food.

I ordered escargot with tomatoes and spinach , which i expected to be appetizer size. It was huge. Between the richness of the escargot and the butter , it was difficult to finish - even though it was excellent
I also ordered Swedish meatballs made of ostrich. There were. 8 fairly good sized meatballs. Again way too much food- so i took most of them 'to go.'

Also tried the white sangria- pinot gregio with a grapefruit soda and slice of peach. Sounded strange but it was very refreshing.

Server was accomodating and friendly. Although some advertising gave hours starting at 4 pm, they are only open from 5pm on, closed on monday.

Price for my 2 dishes and drink was $42- so with tip a $50 meal. But it was very good.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific Timo!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We live in Sedona, AZ and discovered this "gem" a few months ago. We now have been there several times and introduced it to friends and recommended it to visitors. We love the Small Plate concept. The service is exceptional by all the servers. Last night we had Haley and she remembered so much of our choices from previous visits. The fresh popovers are my favorite item as well as the lamb chops ( two for $13!). The salads, bruschettas and seafood samplings are all great. Next time I hope to try the Dry Aged NY steak that is a main course selection. The complimentary Lemoncello or Grappa is a very nice touch at the end of the meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing