We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rock Scenic Byway (SR 179)

Ranked #2 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was such a beautiful drive. Definitely worth seeing. It's impossible for the red rocks to not warm your soul. You'll always remember the beauty of this drive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maxxxines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,407
    388
    40
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MOUNT HOREB
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Incredible views of the red rocks - just kept getting better. Several spots to pull out and stop to take photos (some parking lots w/ access to trailheads).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOJOWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
487 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Must see in AZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Some of the most incredible natural scenery in the country if not the world. Hwy 179 winds through the natural scenery with numerous places to stop for viewing, hiking, relaxing. After the first time we drove through we knew this was where we wanted to live.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dps_Sedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Endearing Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

It truly gives us different views each time we drive it! Smooth, relaxing, and makes me miss home even more! We never fail to drive it many times while visiting AZ!

The Ortons

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GuineO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the Most Beautiful Drives in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is one of the most spectacular drives on the planet. The Scenic Byway goes right through National Forrest land with huge red rock formations on both sides of the road. Most days of the year the sun is shining and the sky is an amazing shade of blue against the Red of the rocks. It reminds me that there is a God and I feel blessed to live in his creation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Scenic Byway (SR 179) also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock Scenic Byway (SR 179)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing