We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility Needs Updating”
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Facility Needs Updating”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

While the price was quite good for Sedona and room was clean, the lack of updating gives things a dingy feel. Next time I'll go back to the slightly more expensive and updated budget motel I stayed at before.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    131
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
75
131
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Felt like we hit the jackpot with this hotel. In the middle of the Sedona experience, (great views, shopping, wonderful dining experiences), is a clean & cozy hotel, like finding a little cabin in the middle of the mountains. Best part is, it was so inexpensive we could still do all of the extras on our vacation! Another bonus is they have a very nice & clean jacuzzi & pool.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smallsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

What an excellent little motel this is. Not only was it cheaper than any other hotel I could find in the area, It also had a nice hot tub and a fireplace in the pool area going at night. The pool area also had a very nice gas grill that the front desk guy Jacob said we were free to use if we wanted to cook anything. The room was nice and clean, and I could tell they took good care of it. Its not super fancy or anything, but it had everything I needed for a quiet and comfortable stay. The location is also excellent, and there is a nice little hiking trail to the sugarloaf mountains within walking distance to the motel which Jacob helped me to find.

I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The front of the motel has a nice view of the mountains, and even though its facing the road its ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Sugarloaf Lodge in Sedona was a great find! The budget price does NOT mean inferior. It's basic -- not glamorous ... but very clean and comfortable and a few nice surprises like a mini fridge, microwave, Wifi, blow dryer, mini coffee maker and iron as well as simple breakfast treats/juice/coffee available in the office each morning. Parking is easy and right outside your door. The beds, bathroom and tv were all perfectly adequate! The location for sightseeing and dining is perfect, as well as access to a grocery store or laundromat. There's an outdoor pool and hot tub that looked nice ... but we didn't have the time (or interest) in using it (it was January and still a bit chilly). I'm a single mom traveling with two college kids from the East coast (after visiting family in Phoenix) and our original intention was only to stay one night but because we loved the area and felt so comfortable at Sugarloaf, we decided to stay 2 additional nights! Although fancier accommodations and amenities may be nice, the budget price at Sugarloaf afforded us to stay longer and do more in Sedona (Pink Jeep Tours, Vortex tour, Sedona Helicopter ride, dining, shopping, etc.)! I would definitely recommend Sugarloaf and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonStrongMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

An older motel, but very clean and nice, and in a good location. Jerry at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Without hesitation, he found us a great nearby gluten free, vegan restaurant and even called to make sure it was open. There is beautiful xeroscaping on the property as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dejony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved our one night stay at this motel. Clean rooms, great location right next to a laundromat and plenty of places to shop and eat and great and helpful management.

Bed was comfortable and wifi was strong and fast. Nice looking spa and pool which we didn't go in. People in there looked relaxed though!

Jerry in the office was welcoming and helpful for our sojourn onto the canyon and although the breakfast was basic, it was sufficient.

Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone travelling through the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Sixty bucks a night for a simple but very clean and comfortable room with all you need in the heart of it all? Winner-winner chicken dinner! Gary was lovely. Jack was crabby. My first motel experience. I liked it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#40 of 48 in Sedona
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#31 of 48 in Sedona
895 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
1.1 mi away
GreenTree Inn Sedona
GreenTree Inn Sedona
#26 of 48 in Sedona
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Property: Sugar Loaf Lodge
Address: 1870 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-5534
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing