We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar Loaf Lodge, Sedona, Arizona”
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent three days, two nights in Sedona in October and we stayed at the Sugar Loaf Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised....the room was clean and spacious. It had a microwave and a bar fridge. It was quite obvious that the proprietor took pride in his one-storey motel, The whole place was clean and presentable to the public. Our room faced the south and although the lodge was located on the north side of a busy street/highway, we did not encounter noise during the night. The bed was comfortable. Housekeeping in general was very good.
The location of the lodge was good....we could easily get to where we wanted to go...be it to the main core of Sedona or to the outskirts and to the countryside. We would not hesitate to stay here again and we recommend this place to travellers who are budget conscious and looking for a moderately priced accommodation.

Room Tip: For sure, try to get a room facing the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 305 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013. It was very easy to get in and out. The location is close to downtown and yet close to the wonderful red rock countryside.
There is a very wide, flat sidewalk in front of the motel that runs alongside the highway and makes everything you would need within a pleasant walking distance.
The room is minimal but clean and quiet and perfect for a good night's rest.
You park right in front of your room - very convenient old style!
I will stay here again when I return to amazing Sedona.

Room Tip: all rooms are about equally pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor as one of the top hotels in Sedona for value. We were not disappointed. The room we had did not face south toward the busy street (only a few rooms do face the street), but to the east - looking out into some native trees and bushes with a view of distant rock formations.

The room was clean and quiet with free Wi-Fi, cable TV, pleasant bathroom, etc. We spent 3 nights here. I walked from here to trail heads to hike every day while my husband was taking a workshop. I spent some time in the pool area, which was very nice. The weather was warm for October and the pool was open to swim, plus there was a hot tub. There was no free breakfast at this hotel, but the room had a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator so we stocked up on breakfast supplies from the nearby grocery store (within walking distance). The bed was comfortable and it was nice and quiet at night. Generally a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room behind the office (not facing the street). The ones that face the south and the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The room and adjacent hot tub pool area were mice. But the stay was average. I went to go get coffee this morning from the older gentleman at the front desk. I poured a cup and there was something floating in it . So I threw it out on the drive and was yelled at saying " that'll stain, you best clean it up". Not a big deal but a small motel owner should have better customer service, IMHO !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good clean beds, quiet, refrigerator, modest but adequate breakfast and good coffee. The entire room was in order and clean. Everything you need - and at one of the best prices in town. Jacob who is on sight was extremely helpful. It was a good experience and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask Jacob for the "quiet side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeandConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very pleasant stay in the (little dated) spacious, quiet room with everything we needed. The service was good, it was clean, grocery store and excellent Italian, organic restaurant very close by. Weekends are more expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabeth4644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sugar Loaf Lodge was the perfect base for our recent trip to Sedona. Clean, comfortable, spacious, with everything we needed - 'fridge, microwave, jacuzzi and decent nibbles (fruit, yogurt, pastries) for breakfast The lodge is centrally located to all areas of Sedona, as well as grocery and other conveniences. The owners were friendly and helpful. You can tell they take pride in their place. Unless you desperately need super-luxe, you can't beat Sugar Loaf Lodge. We will definitely stay there again next time we're in Sedona. (Note: 5th star reserved for over-the-top super-luxe spots....no reflection on this perfect little place.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#32 of 48 in Sedona
174 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
1.8 mi away
Star Motel
Star Motel
#34 of 48 in Sedona
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
0.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Whitehouse Inn
Whitehouse Inn
#45 of 48 in Sedona
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Address: 1870 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-5534
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $83 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing