We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value in Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Loaf Lodge to your Saves list
Sugar Loaf Lodge
1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value in Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor as one of the top hotels in Sedona for value. We were not disappointed. The room we had did not face south toward the busy street (only a few rooms do face the street), but to the east - looking out into some native trees and bushes with a view of distant rock formations.

The room was clean and quiet with free Wi-Fi, cable TV, pleasant bathroom, etc. We spent 3 nights here. I walked from here to trail heads to hike every day while my husband was taking a workshop. I spent some time in the pool area, which was very nice. The weather was warm for October and the pool was open to swim, plus there was a hot tub. There was no free breakfast at this hotel, but the room had a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator so we stocked up on breakfast supplies from the nearby grocery store (within walking distance). The bed was comfortable and it was nice and quiet at night. Generally a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room behind the office (not facing the street). The ones that face the south and the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    103
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
101
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The room and adjacent hot tub pool area were mice. But the stay was average. I went to go get coffee this morning from the older gentleman at the front desk. I poured a cup and there was something floating in it . So I threw it out on the drive and was yelled at saying " that'll stain, you best clean it up". Not a big deal but a small motel owner should have better customer service, IMHO !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good clean beds, quiet, refrigerator, modest but adequate breakfast and good coffee. The entire room was in order and clean. Everything you need - and at one of the best prices in town. Jacob who is on sight was extremely helpful. It was a good experience and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask Jacob for the "quiet side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COCHRANE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very pleasant stay in the (little dated) spacious, quiet room with everything we needed. The service was good, it was clean, grocery store and excellent Italian, organic restaurant very close by. Weekends are more expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth4644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sugar Loaf Lodge was the perfect base for our recent trip to Sedona. Clean, comfortable, spacious, with everything we needed - 'fridge, microwave, jacuzzi and decent nibbles (fruit, yogurt, pastries) for breakfast The lodge is centrally located to all areas of Sedona, as well as grocery and other conveniences. The owners were friendly and helpful. You can tell they take pride in their place. Unless you desperately need super-luxe, you can't beat Sugar Loaf Lodge. We will definitely stay there again next time we're in Sedona. (Note: 5th star reserved for over-the-top super-luxe spots....no reflection on this perfect little place.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was in Sedona just for overnight and found the Sugar Loaf Lodge to be a clean, cheap and centrally located motel. It's right on 89A which is the main street in Sedona and close to just about everything. While the place is dated, it served the purpose. There's a refrigerator and microwave in the room and grocery stores are nearby. There's also a pool in the back. It's within a few blocks of the Coffee Pot Restaurant which is probably the most popular restaurant on the weekends. The owner was helpful with maps of Sedona and told me how to get around. The only minor complaint was parking, I had to go around a very large truck to get to my room so I was cutting it close since the pavement didn't extend far to the left (this is if you are staying on the left side of it, the right side parking was much better.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had trouble finding a reasonable place to stay on a recent trip to Sedona. Luckily we stumbled across the Sugar Loaf Lodge and were sure glad that we did. The place was clean, quiet, and had a nice hot-tub to boot. The manager, Jerry was extremely helpful and friendly, and gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations, all within walking distance to the motel.

Room Tip: Book early as they are a small place and fill up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#28 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#46 of 48 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedona
Days Inn Sedona
#32 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whitehouse Inn
Whitehouse Inn
#42 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Property: Sugar Loaf Lodge
Address: 1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing