We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location great price”
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Schererville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location great price”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

You can't beat the price and location on this motel! Beds were decent and comfortable. Hot tub was perfect after a day on the trails in Sedona. Jerry is very helpful and interesting. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Sedona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanditoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    132
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
76
131
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This little property is more than it seems. Great pool, hot tub and barbecue area at the back. Nothing fancy but then if that is what you are looking for please feel free to look elsewhere and pay much more. The room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities. Fridge, microwave, coffe maker, ironing board and iron were all there when I arrived. Very friendly staff and always willing to help out. Central to everything from shops and restaurants to trails and sights. Save your money for what Sedona has to offer and stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading several review on Tripadvisor, we settled on the Sugar Loaf. We wanted a clean, non-chain motel and what we found was this and more! Jerry in the office was helpful and awesome. The 24 hr hot tub and BBQ were perfect after a day of hiking and the room was clean and spacious (Rm 16). We met other travellers who told us they always stay here while in Sedona and having repeat customers is always a sign you are doing something right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, nc
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place was clean, friendly, well-located and retro. Making reservations was extremely easy as was the check-in/check-out process. It was a very quiet room with comfortable beds. It was nicely located with many restaurants, shops and amenities within-in walking distance. In fact, directly across the street is a great restaurant, Picazzo's Organic Italian Restaurant. I would recommended this budget hotel to my friends. The only reason that I am giving the service a 4 is because the owners were away and the staff, although incredibly friendly, was doing double duty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamparedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a room for one night and found it meet our needs quite nicely. We were comfortable, the location was handy to walk to stores and shops, the owner was very helpful with maps and tips on what to see. A small assortment of breakfast items were available in the office, included in the price, yogurt, pastries, granola bars and coffee and juice. The pool is open all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton,ont. canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sugar Loaf Lodge Apr.20-23, Saturday til Wednesday morning. We left wishing that we did not have to go. There were 9 of us in total, all family staying in 4 rooms. We had the rooms on the east side of the building and they were great. The rooms were clean and basic. Microwave, fridge, TV, bath w/ tub and shower. The Lodge provides an area where you can BBQ, and even sit by an outdoor gas fireplace on cool evenings. It is located on the pool deck area and it was wonderful. We had dinner there twice. Tables to sit at, utensils at the office for cooking. The grocery store is about a 3 minute walk from the Lodge. So as great as this all was the best was Jerry the Innkeeper. He was friendly, helpful and a font of knowledge. I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: East side of building, provides sun in the am, for having coffee outside, comfort in the afternoon f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A nice clean and reasonably priced motel situated in the right side of town. Walking distance to fine restaurants, "Over the Edge" bike rentals across the road and terrific mountain bike trails behind the motel. Dry Creek Gulch road down the street that leads you to some of the best trails for hiking and mountain biking. It has a swimming pool and a welcome hot pool for those sore muscles after a big day on the trails. The owner is somewhat somber and the "complimentary breakfast" is a joke but you can't beat the location while in $edona especially the value.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the pool and spa are more convenient unless you brought your flip flops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradlog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#39 of 48 in Sedona
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#34 of 48 in Sedona
913 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
GreenTree Inn Sedona
GreenTree Inn Sedona
#26 of 48 in Sedona
1,189 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
6.2 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#6 of 48 in Sedona
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Property: Sugar Loaf Lodge
Address: 1870 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-5534
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing