We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a room for one night and found it meet our needs quite nicely. We were comfortable, the location was handy to walk to stores and shops, the owner was very helpful with maps and tips on what to see. A small assortment of breakfast items were available in the office, included in the price, yogurt, pastries, granola bars and coffee and juice. The pool is open all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    129
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
70
127
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
acton,ont. canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sugar Loaf Lodge Apr.20-23, Saturday til Wednesday morning. We left wishing that we did not have to go. There were 9 of us in total, all family staying in 4 rooms. We had the rooms on the east side of the building and they were great. The rooms were clean and basic. Microwave, fridge, TV, bath w/ tub and shower. The Lodge provides an area where you can BBQ, and even sit by an outdoor gas fireplace on cool evenings. It is located on the pool deck area and it was wonderful. We had dinner there twice. Tables to sit at, utensils at the office for cooking. The grocery store is about a 3 minute walk from the Lodge. So as great as this all was the best was Jerry the Innkeeper. He was friendly, helpful and a font of knowledge. I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: East side of building, provides sun in the am, for having coffee outside, comfort in the afternoon f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A nice clean and reasonably priced motel situated in the right side of town. Walking distance to fine restaurants, "Over the Edge" bike rentals across the road and terrific mountain bike trails behind the motel. Dry Creek Gulch road down the street that leads you to some of the best trails for hiking and mountain biking. It has a swimming pool and a welcome hot pool for those sore muscles after a big day on the trails. The owner is somewhat somber and the "complimentary breakfast" is a joke but you can't beat the location while in $edona especially the value.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the pool and spa are more convenient unless you brought your flip flops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradlog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here previously with my two sisters. It is very affordable, in a great central location, is clean, and also there is a pool and access to a bbq cooker right outside. What more do you want? Oh, you want a really fancy room, huh? Well, why don't you spend time checking out the fancy outdoors instead?! ;D I'll be back soon, for sure. Sedona is a magical place. If you aren't feeling the energy, you just aren't paying attention!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flygrrrlhighgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here with a friend, it was last minute... if you just need a bed, this is your place.. right off the 89 across from a good pizza and wine bar.. felt like an old motel, you park in front of your door..lol

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahswan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for a one night jaunt thru Sedona. We're in our mid-twenties and had stayed in a 4-star resort for the first few days of our trip and were looking to save money! We chose Sugar Loaf for the price and location. The room certainly isn't fancy but it works! It's centrally located and you can get to the Sedona sights and "nightlife" fairly easily. I'm not very picky about hotels. I'm good as long as the sheets and towels are clean and they were at this hotel. If Sedona is your week-long destination I would recommend staying somewhere a little more exciting. If you don't plan on spending much time in your room and are in town to take in Sedona for a night or two, this is the right choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 day stay here. The rooms are nice and clean, the heater warm and there were chairs outside allowing us to use our gas cooker outside the front door and sit in the sun.
Internet service is very patchy though it only worked well about half of our time here and the front desk wasn't very helpful in trying to fix it.
The pool is very nice by the way and overall we can recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#42 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#31 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
1.1 mi away
Whitehouse Inn
Whitehouse Inn
#44 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Property: Sugar Loaf Lodge
Address: 1870 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-5534
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing