We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need for a short stay.”
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All you need for a short stay.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for a one night jaunt thru Sedona. We're in our mid-twenties and had stayed in a 4-star resort for the first few days of our trip and were looking to save money! We chose Sugar Loaf for the price and location. The room certainly isn't fancy but it works! It's centrally located and you can get to the Sedona sights and "nightlife" fairly easily. I'm not very picky about hotels. I'm good as long as the sheets and towels are clean and they were at this hotel. If Sedona is your week-long destination I would recommend staying somewhere a little more exciting. If you don't plan on spending much time in your room and are in town to take in Sedona for a night or two, this is the right choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    133
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
76
132
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 day stay here. The rooms are nice and clean, the heater warm and there were chairs outside allowing us to use our gas cooker outside the front door and sit in the sun.
Internet service is very patchy though it only worked well about half of our time here and the front desk wasn't very helpful in trying to fix it.
The pool is very nice by the way and overall we can recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The Sugar Loaf is what you would expect for the price. The room was clean, and the beds were comfy. Although the curtains and flooring have not been updated in ten years. We stated in unit 14, which is a pet friendly unit. The negative concerning this unit is that the sliding door, which is the front door, lead to barking from our dog. We couldn't bring the dog everywhere we went. So, the owner complained of course. The tv was flat screen and offered many channels. There's a pool, but it had a lot of bugs in it. So we went in the jacuzzi which was fine. Overall, for the price, I might stay again if we were here for one night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Likeaboss590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay here and as usual there was no problem. We were running way late on this trip but they had our room keys waiting for us and the room ready. They even turned the lights on for us. I know it doesn't seem like much but it shows us a personal touch. I highly recommend the Sugar Loaf!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't let the 4 Star reviews confuse you. This is a one star hotel. I give it a four for value, but it is a small hotel, kept well enough, with a nice pool and hot tub. It is not a place that compliments the serenity that one goes to Sedona to find. If what you come to Sedona for is to hike and just want to sleep someplace safe without cinder block walls then this will do the trick. That is all!
Sedona is beautiful and worth the trip no matter where you sleep.

Room Tip: The front would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pokey0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable 2 night stay, was not your usual hotel/motel feel. The room was clean, spacious, light and airy.2 Q with white down comforters, BLUE towels (not the usual rough institutional white), 3 windows with blinds and curtains, plus an entry door with glass enclosed blinds. Eating area with micro/fridge. Comp. b'fst. of juice, coffee, yogurt, pastry. In addition to the pool/hot tub, there were chairs on our patio to watch the sunset/rise. Walk to restaurants, shopping within walking distance. An absolute recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank plumtree4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I choose this hotel based on the rating AND cost. Just needed clean room and good bed. That is what I found. Nothing special except it did have a hot tub and pool that I used. Eventhough it was right on the main road in West Sedona, it was quiet! The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and the TV had all the channels i needed.

Room Tip: I was in the room nearest to the road but never heard the road traffic so assume the others were eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#39 of 48 in Sedona
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#35 of 48 in Sedona
918 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
827 reviews
1.1 mi away
GreenTree Inn Sedona
GreenTree Inn Sedona
#26 of 48 in Sedona
1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Property: Sugar Loaf Lodge
Address: 1870 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-5534
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing