We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Motel
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

we thought of staying overnight but stayed for four days. The hospitality from the people in charge was brilliant. Good location, would happily stay again. The room (6) was small but pleasant, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If there are more than two people ask for the suite. Two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and lounge. Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    65
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
107
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I share different standards when it comes to motels. He just needs a big screen TV, a shower and a place to sleep. I like those things too but cannot overlook when a place appears neglected. Although this is a quiet, centrally located motel right next to downtown and the owners could not be more pleasant and helpful, I think a bit of the rental fees should go into some new carpeting (dingy and not cleaned in awhile) and a good scrubbing in the corners of the bathrooms. The worst was the shower curtain liner: dark and moldy along the bottom, crusty and brown - a sure sign the owner has not looked in a while at the rooms. I love to give positive reviews but this place needs some TLC - new and cheerful bedding and an overall cleaning. For the price you cannot expect luxury but these small things make tourists feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked for 3 nights, based on other reviews and price point. Centrally located in downtown "Old Sedona" so very convenient to all the major tourist attractions, either walking or very short drive.
Room very basic, but adequate amenities, comfy bed and very clean. Mini-fridge and micro handy in the room. No in-house restaurant but you are steps away from a number of places to eat.
My one criticism would be the noise - just no escaping it,whether it was the trash pick up at 7 AM, or the constant flow of traffic, or the construction zone next door. Relatively quiet at night (though one of the nearby restaurants cranked their music late into the night). I would have bumped the rating to a four, if not for the noise factor. Perhaps more solid doors facing street-side would mitigate the noise.
Overall, a decent, well-priced place with great hospitality by the owner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the motel may be a quieter option, at least until the construction next door is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Very affordable price right in the center of it all. I loved not having to move my car and being able to just walk from shop to shop, Anne was delightful and truly appreciated each of her guests. Will recommend to family and friends looking for a quick getaway on a budget.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Sedona and stayed at the Star Motel for five nights. Perfect location for dinning and shopping all within walking distance of a half a block or less. The owner Anne and her staff were great in answering any questions and making your visit a joy. If your looking for a reasonable price place to stay without all the fancy stuff this is the place. The motel is very clean with comfortable beds. We will be staying there again on our next trip to Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdr0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My dad and I stayed at the Star Motel for one evening after spending four days backpacking in the grand canyon. Like many of the reviews say, the rooms are basic, however they are clean and the beds are comfortable. Anne, the owner, is definitely the best part of the motel and she had excellent recommendations for massages, dinner, and breakfast. The location is great, it's within walking distance of all the shops throughout Uptown Sedona, and for the price, you can't beat it. I would stay at the Star Motel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajaro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Star Motel in their king room. It was a perfect fit for us and I don't think we would have asked for much more. The accommodations certainly aren't luxury, but they are clean and very well kept. The staff was helpful and friendly, our room was very clean and the price was certainly right. We would recommend to anyone looking for a basic, well kept hotel in the heart of Uptown to use as a home base for day hikes and in the evening the ability to walk though town to shop and eat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kmktravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.8 mi away
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Sugar Loaf Lodge
#37 of 48 in Sedona
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sedona Motel
Sedona Motel
#35 of 48 in Sedona
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Petite Sedona
La Petite Sedona
#45 of 48 in Sedona
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Property: Star Motel
Address: 295 Jordan Rd, P.O. Box 1320, Sedona, AZ 86336-4281
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Motel is located in the historic center of Sedona, uptown. Location, location, location! Galleries, restaurants, and shopping. The motel has been family owned for over 35 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Queen and king sized beds, walk in showers with seating, free Wi-Fi, parking in front of guest rooms. All rooms have red rock views. All rooms are non-smoking & no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing