We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Really is a Star!”
Review of Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Motel
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Motel Really is a Star!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

On a last minute decision to overnight in Sedona weren't expecting much from the budget motels. Wrong! The owner Anne very graciously discounted the rate on her last available spot - the apartment suite! We travel ALOT and rate this apartment as one of the nicest. It was spotless with two bedrooms, large living room w/fireplace, kitchen very well-appointed (yes, a proper kettle for Brits) and all the comforts of home with a central town location. We were driving cross-country and sad to stay only one night but will definitely return and follow Anne's great suggestions for the area. Many thanks, Adrienne

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
109
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location and a great value. Anne Des Rosier certainly knows how to make her guest feel welcome. She is a treasure of knowledge about the area, Anne offered great tips on where dine for dinner as well as breakfast. When asked where we might buy a bottle of wine, she pointed us in the right direction and immediatley provided us with proper wine glasses. The rooms where very fresh and clean. Thank you Anne for a wonderful time. C'est tres bien!
Paul and Shirley , Allen Park MI

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Paul and Shirley,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Star. I hope to see you here again, I will have your wine glasses ready!
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have traveled the world and Anne Des Rosier is the most hospitable, friendly and informative hostess & owner I ever met! Besides feeling like I've known Anne all my life, Anne made my wife & I feel like privileged guests; Anne really CARES about her guests and her business. Anne gave us great info & tips including all the surrounding historic & fun sites. Anne also introduced us to her lovely mother Marcel who originally bought the motel during her first visit (great story!). And as far as the motel goes, it has it all: best central location, clean refurbished and quaint rooms, great value.....and did I mention the great hospitality!? Sedona was named after Sedona Schnebly who is "celebrated for her hospitality and industriousness". I have a feeling Anne emulates Sedona, both the town and its namesake who I'm sure would be very proud! Thank you Anne & Marcel.
Ron & Rolina (Carol) Beattie, Vista CA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Wow, do you know how to make a business owners day! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay (and my hospitality) so much. It was truly a pleasure to meet you, Carol and Ron.

Thanks for the comparison to Sedona Schnebly, she and her husband had an 11 room house that was often run like a hotel, we have more in common than I had realized!

Hope to see you soon.

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Star Motel recently for several nights. While the price is low for this part of Sedona (close to shops, art galleries etc.), it was definitely a case of "you get what you pay for". I had seen the interior photos before booking, so I wasn't expecting too much, but seeing and then experiencing those concrete block walls are two different things. It certainly does have that "jail block" feel. The room was clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable. I only wish we could have slept more to have enjoyed it. This was totally impossible from the noise from cars parking right at your door in the middle of the night, guests talking and smoking at your door, the very loud music from neighboring restaurants, the garbage trucks emptying the trash every morning, and the airconditioner which was as loud as a jumbo jet (so much for their new quiet models!). Turn off the aircon and open the window, and the outside noises are even louder, and you do feel a bit vulnerable being right on the street.

My wallet might have benefited from a stay here, but if you are so tired during the day from lack of sleep that you cannot enjoy your holilday in Sedona, then it is just not worth it. The room also has a microwave, but no tea or coffee making facilities. Bathroom small but clean. No one mans the office until about 9 am, and from about 7 or 8 in the evening. Too bad if you need assistance.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra, and stay somewhere else - off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irishgypseyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Irishgypseyrover,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Star. I wish that you had let us know, so that we could have refunded you and you could have found accommodation elsewhere. Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us.
Sincerely,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I stopped at Star Motel to get rate info in anticipation of my next trip to Sedona. It is a lovely little place just off the main drag; caught my eye because of the lovely chocolate facade & Tiffany blue room doors. And because the sign says *Motel. Thought that was cute. And the location is so close to everything walkable -- minus a steep uphill climb or coordination of shuttle.

The proprietors, Anne and Marcelle were wonderfully helpful and pleasant. They told me about Sedona and the all happenings throughout the year, little treasures about town, music festivals, the copper mining town-turned artist colony a little distance south named Jerome...if I'd not already paid for my lodging down the road, I certainly would've packed up my stuff and spent a much better night at the Star Motel (my hotel was under construction. Jackhammers at 9:30 am...right).

I got lost on my way to the Thai restaurant later on that evening; Anne was still at the front desk and readily assisted me in finding the right route (I definitely wouldn't have been able to find it at night, walking).

The customer service alone is reason to stay at Star. I prefer to stay in places that are clean, quaint, have some uniqueness about them, are unpretentious, and where the quality and value is high. All of these attributes are evident in this establishment's customer service. Can't wait to return to Sedona...as a guest of Star Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShayNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
ShayNC,
It was a pleasure meeting you. It's fun to meet enthusiastic travelers, on their first time visit to Sedona, and share a bit of our insider knowledge of the area. There is so much to do and see here -I look forward to having you as a guest at the Star next time you visit!
See you soon
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Very good location near to shops and restaurants. Owner is very helpfull ! Nature is awesome and people are friendly where ever you go. Will be back !

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hi Steve V,
Glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sedona and your stay at the Star Motel. Thanks for the review, it is appreciated!
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Perfect location for walking to shops and restaurants. Not fancy, but basic and adequate for our 1-night stay. Only complaint was the air conditioner which was loud and continually cycled on and off, kept waking us up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi lovestotravel,
I am very sorry that you were disturbed during the night...
The good news is that the air conditioners are being replaced with new HVAC units as I type!
I hope that the next time you are in Sedona you will choose stay with us again for a cool (or warm), peaceful sleep in the heart of Sedona.
Sincerely,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.0 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Petite Sedona
La Petite Sedona
#46 of 48 in Sedona
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sedona Motel
Sedona Motel
#35 of 48 in Sedona
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saad Suites
Saad Suites
#28 of 29 in Sedona
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Property: Star Motel
Address: 295 Jordan Rd, P.O. Box 1320, Sedona, AZ 86336-4281
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Motel is located in the historic center of Sedona, uptown. Location, location, location! Galleries, restaurants, and shopping. The motel has been family owned for over 35 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Queen and king sized beds, walk in showers with seating, free Wi-Fi, parking in front of guest rooms. All rooms have red rock views. All rooms are non-smoking & no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing