We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool drawings, difficult to reach...”
Review of Palatki Ruins

Palatki Ruins
Ranked #17 of 158 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cool drawings, difficult to reach...”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Seeing the cave drawings by the Palatki Indians was very interesting. Limited viewing of the ruins of their dwellings though. Caring, informative docents who live on temporarily live on the site. Beware of the difficult drive out to the site though-- 15 minute drive through very rough gravel road. Normal cars can make it but not sure if the road will do any damage to the car itself... So probably better to go in an suv. If we had known more about the drive, we probably wouldn't have gone out there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wahinekawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    169
    25
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent example of history and archeology.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First, very rough dirt road, but, we drove it at about 5 - 10 mph and got there just fine in a rented SUV, AWD. The volunteer guides are knowledgeable and patient and really make the trip worth while. People lived here about 800 years ago and realistically, no one knows what they did and where they went, but, they left behind structures and pictographs from which we speculate. Absolutely worth the effort to see an ancient habitation site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penna
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun trip”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Go in a Jeep or Jeep trip as we did. Rent a cars can make it as we did a number of years ago but do not break down and try to explain to the rental co. it will cost you. We did this as part of the Pink Jeep Tour from the Enchantment Resort. Fairly rough trip but loads of fun and a great driver who made the trip complete.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing history here”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to see where and how the indians lived millions of years ago. The volunteer docents sure know their stuff. Tom will share his knowledge on the pictographs at the ruins and it's almost as if he lived it. The road there is about 5 miles of gravel, but not too bad. The on-site docent hosts are very friendly and helpful. Easy hiking once you are there to get to the ruins

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reservations needed”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

talked our way past ranger to see wall writings but could not get up to cliff dwellings w/o reservation even though it is way out of town and they were not busy. Ranger seemed like a lazy clock watcher. Cliff art was cool and docent knowledgeable

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parker1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palatki Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Palatki Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing