We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost-upgraded unit with a terrific northern view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Sedona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Sedona
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Almost-upgraded unit with a terrific northern view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in an almost-renovated one bedroom deluxe unit for a week. The DVD wasn't plugged in properly and one of the lamps was out; the maintenance man fixed the issue immediately. He also let us know that our unit needed only a replacement couch and the lighting replaced before it was completed. The upgraded items were spot-on: granite counter tops, new appliances, new furniture, the patio furniture still had the tags on it. Some visitors that may have felt that the units were outdated will appreciate the renovated units.

We had a large balcony with an exceptional northern view. Loved waking up each morning, and heading over to the gym to watch the sun rise over the mountains. Landscaping, common areas, gym and other amenities were very clean and well-maintained.

Front-desk staff was very friendly. As with other reviewers: Yes, we were pressured to attend a "discussion" (which we, of course, knew would turn into a version of a sales presentation). We declined, since we didn't want to expand our program. But had to endure several voice mails and another conversation from the concierge/manager to continue declining. If you have difficulty saying "no" to a presentation, you will not appreciate these tactics. Other than that, would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have best views. Renovations expected to be completed January 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    78
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
103
131
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is our second time to stay here and shame on us. We are Wyndham VIP owners and found this to be a very substandard property. Upon check-in we were asked to attend an "Owners Update" meeting. Of course we all know this is going to be a sales pitch for 45 minutes. What it turned out to be was an inquisition and an "Update" of all the things we had done wrong with our ownership. My advice is don't go to the "Owner Update". I asked to have the sales manager call me about the incident 4 days ago and have yet to hear from him. They really have no concern for their owners from the sales stand point. As far as the room we were told we were the first guests in the newly remodeled room. Upon arrival to the room, we were missing a baking sheet, frying pan and most importantly a fire extinguisher. Maintenance/Housekeeping personnel indicated that those items had been accidentally removed when the old cooking stoves were removed and he did not know where the fire extinguisher had gotten to since the remodeling was completed. These items were promptly replaced that day or the very next morning. Also as an owner of this property I was very disappointed in the remodeling. The quality of the work was terrible. It appears there was no management involvement in the construction process. Lastly, we were placed in an ADA room since my mother is immobile. For the most part, the unit is compliant, however, if she were here by herself, she would never be able to reach the dishes which are 4 to 7 feet off the ground. I would never recommend this resort to a disabled person unless they are accompanied. When I was allowed to finally meet with the resort manager, his first words out of his mouth was "Does everybody have a problem today?". With that attitude I refused to discuss the issues with him. I should say that the Resort Manager did call and apologize for his actions and I was refunded my points for this stay and given an additional 7 day stay at this resort. This is a wonderful location to visit, this is probably not the best place to stay while here. We expect more out of Wyndham for the amount of money we have and will pay in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here a week and enjoyed the resort and its location. Our clean, spacious one-bedroom deluxe suite was in great shape even though it was scheduled for remodeling soon. We like the West Sedona location because it is close to many decent restaurants and grocery stores. The New Frontiers Natural Marketplace is our favorite for groceries. The activities center is equipped with computers, exercise equipment and game room along with an outdoor pool and large hot tub, which we took advantage of. Try to avoid the timeshare meeting no matter what they offer you.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite close to the activities center because you will be using it frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a beautiful resort - very well kept - and the units are beautiful too. There is a restaurant within walking distance just off the western edge of the property - decent food. There are lots of restaurants within a short drive. There is a Safeway grocery store immediately across the street from the resort.

You are not very far from one of the most interesting shopping areas you will ever see that has lots of local artist displaying their work: Tlaque Paque. You really must go there - and while you are there, treat yourself to lunch at Rene's, right in the middle of Tlaque Paque, and have lunch out on their beautiful, cozy courtyard.

You would also want to take the Red Rocks jeep tour of the red rock canyons. We took the Cowboys and Canyons Sunset tour and it was wonderful. While you're at it, drive up on airport hill and watch the sunset. That is a special experience.

You really should treat yourself to this resort.

Room Tip: Units on the west side are a short walk to a restaurant. Get a two bedroom, or larger, unit for adde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arizona2AHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The grounds are nicely kept, the rooms are clean. If I had to give any suggestions it would be to add more shelves and safety handles to the showers when the rooms are remodeled. The staff was helpful, booked us a nice tour to the Grand Canyon and provided a map of the town and restaurant recommendations. The kitchen is fully stocked and there is a Safeway right across the street. All in all the Wyndham Sedona is a lovely resort.

The only reason I can't give it an excellent rating is the same reason most people have issues with Wyndham resorts, the time share meeting. Our concierge told us the meeting would only be about the new point system, not true. She said it would last no more than 45 minuets, not true, it went well over an hour. And she said no one would try to sell us anything. Also not true. Our representative started by trying to sell us his book which I thought was kind of cute. Apparently Wyndham doesn't consider this to be a conflict of interest? After that he did pretty well up until he told my mother that the representative from Kawaii that told her she could will her time share and points to her kids was wrong. He then acted very offended when my mother suggested they all get their stories straight. Well....you know... At this point he had his manager look up some information and came back to tell us that while she could will her actual property, her children would have to buy into Wyndham to use it. They both then proceeded to try and sell me time share points for when my mother dies. Just a little tacky. I had to explain to them both for about 15 minuets that I simply could not afford anything like that and was not interested.

If you are used to dealing with Wyndham's shenanigans or are good at saying no to time share salesmen, by all means, stay at the Wyndham Sedona. It's a wonderful place. If you are unaccustomed to strong arm tactics and just flat out being lied to, you may want to reconsider.

Room Tip: Second floors usually have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here one night, driving up from Phoenix. With our Wyndham points, we can stay single nights very easily. I was somewhat disappointed in that I had heard so much about it but many other Wyndhams are better, in my opinion. Of course, it was beautifully decorated and clean, with everything complete, as we expect Wyndhams to be.
I did not like that the concierge would not share the directions where to go for the Pink Jeep Tour, even though we were running late, before we would come to his desk to get the parking permit, thus delaying us even more. Why?
I would call this stay, just so-so...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We (parents and teenage son) stayed in Sedona the first week of April, 2012, and have just booked another week next spring. The country itself is incredibly beautiful, and we hiked at least four of the five days we stayed -- we could have hiked a different trail every day for a month and not exhausted the variety and beauty of the country here! As for the Wyndham site, it was probably the best of all the Wyndham locations we've been to. We're owners, and we were NOT pressured to listen to any sales pitches here once we made it plain we're not interested. The accomodations (1 bedroom deluxe) on the upper floor, had a great view and a huge balcony (at least a 10-ft square). The rooms were big, clean, up-to-date and comfortable. Huge, clean kitchen (important because we usually cook instead of eating out), big bedroom, bathroom & jacuzzi. Pool and hot tub looked good, but we didn't have much time to use them -- we were always traveling or hiking. Site is within 2 hour trip to Grand Canyon, also close to Flagstaff. Nothing but positives about our experience.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get an upstairs unit if you want a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahofer10562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.4 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#27 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sedona

Property: Wyndham Sedona
Address: 1500 Kestral Cir, Sedona, AZ 86336-5923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sedona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#22 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Sedona 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sedona Hotel Sedona
Fairfield Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing