We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Sedona Rouge may not be a five-star property, but it was just the right property for our four nights in Sedona. We had two rooms that overlooked the red rocks on the second floor. Both rooms were spacious and well-appointed, although the furniture could use a little updating. We enjoyed the large, rainforest shower. We took advantage of the pool and its comfy lounge chairs and virtually had the outdoor area to ourselves. The resort fee was reasonable compared to other places and included bottled water, access to the fitness center, and free parking. The location in West Sedona on a main road made it very easy to get around. It was walking distance to a grocery store, which was nice for stocking up on beverages and snacks.

Yoga was offered each morning for only $10 per person. The instructor, Bryan, was excellent. He varied what we did each morning and gave many helpful suggestions/corrections that will be beneficial to our yoga practices when we return home.

The restaurant, Reds, was very comfortable. We had breakfast there two days. The star was the cornflake crusted French toast.

We did have a problem with our check in. We reserved connecting rooms, but when we got there, the previous guests in one of the rooms was refusing to leave. The desk staff and management explained repeatedly to the guests that they were made aware that the room had been reserved by another party and knew that they would have to relocate once we arrived, but they still refused. As a result, our rooms were not connecting but down the hall from each other. We couldn't really blame the hotel for this - they really did everything they could to try to resolve the situation, but the other guests were being unreasonable. They did give us a nice restaurant credit for our inconvenience. Jake at the front desk showed excellent customer service and did everything he could to make it right for us.

All in all, we would definitely stay at this property on any return trip to Sedona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the red rocks. Otherwise, you'll have a view of the parking lot and a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    413
    153
    52
    31
See reviews for
258
725
74
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Sedona Rouge staff is very friendly and helpful. I had to make some last minute reservation changes, and they were very understanding and accommodating. Its location was good for me; quick trip over to Bike n Bean. I'll definitely book again the next time I'm heading to Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Sedona Rouge from April 17th to the 19th. The lobby is very impressive and tranquil. I took the advice of other reviews and booked a room with a mountain view and it was true, if you don't ask for that you will be looking at a parking lot. The view from our room was very nice with a beautiful mountain view although we were able to see private homes in the back along with what appeared to be some type of business with a warehouse that spoiled the view a little. We had a wedge for a balcony so it provided more of a standing view as there was no room for chairs. The room was a standard room with a fireplace but very clean and comfortable with 2 chairs and an ottoman. There was a very small fridge, lovely ornate dresser and side table. The bathroom was clean with a huge shower with a rain shower along with another wall mounted showerhead. One night we all went to the rooftop deck and had drinks, and pizza from Reds. The food was very good and the staff lit the fireplace along with the heaters for us as the temps dropped without the sun. That was a very pleasant way to spend the evening. The service was very good along with the breakfasts we had every morning. All in all I would say the Sedona Rouge was exactly what we were expecting and a little more. Very close to town...great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room or you will be looking at a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jh_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at Sedona Rouge for three nights between April 15-18. Our journey was a bit long and we went right to Reds, their on-site restaurant, before we checked in. We ordered the chips and guacamole and after a few dips I discovered a large piece of hair. I showed it to the waiter, who was more than willing to say sorry and accommodate us. At the end of the lunch, he took 50% off the bill.

Our room was great. The bed was super comfortable with fluffy pillows and robes. We stayed in a corner room so we had great views of the red rock formations in the back. The shower was quite large and the bathroom was stocked with goodies and more than enough towels.

Unfortunately, another incident happened. On the 16th we went to the Grand Canyon for the day. Before we left, I took my LifeProof case off of my phone (anyone with an iPhone knows this is a waterproof, shockproof, etc. case that costs anywhere between $80-90.) I took it off my phone because it takes better pictures without it on. When we arrived back at the hotel that night, the case was where I left it, but it was completely smashed in. I don't know if someone who cleaned the room stepped on it, vacuumed it, or something. But they just left it there with no note, no nothing. After speaking to the front desk manager, they gave me an $80 credit on the bill.

The last night we were there we went to the spa and I have to say the spa is excellent. Both of us very much enjoyed it, in fact my friend said Giri was the best masseuse she ever had. So if you need a deep tissue massage, she's the one to go to!!

Overall, the hotel is very nice and the staff helpful. It just happened that I got hit with two unfortunate incidents.

Green Features: They leave messages about conserving water and reusing towels, so that's good.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was probably a high end hotel at one time. Now it is a hotel with nice beds. Rooms were clean. There are little details (cleaning and maintenance) around the hotel and within the rooms that have not been addressed which prevent this from being a high end hotel. There is a large rain shower in the bathroom but no where to sit if you want to shave your legs. Weird! The tile is older and could use some grout cleaning. I loved the granite slab counter but the sink was cracked and drain needs cleaning. It smelled like mold! Made it really tough when brushing my teeth. Again, these are details that high end hotels address immediately. My sister was in the room next to us and her shower had no door???? Very strange, because it's just a big tile box with a rain shower head.
In the room there is no where to put your feet up when you sit in a chair. No table to sit at, just a long desk.
Here is the kicker-the refrigerator is not a refrigerator! When I called down to the front desk to ask how to turn up the temperature, I was told that it was only a cooler and we could only keep cold things cold, if they were placed in the "cooler" cold! What? I really felt they should have told us this when we arrived (or a note on the front of the "cooler") as I placed items in the cooler upon arrival.
AC unit was very noisy, but we had cool weather and only used it when we first arrived in an attempt to cool a room that was initially stuffy. Ended up having our slider open the entire time. Could be a problem if the weather was hot!
Our room did overlook a quiet little court yard. The hotel assigned us rooms away from the wedding reception occurring on the observation deck. Bonus! Cant say much for the views but we got plenty of that hiking.

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room, I suspect the views would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv2dyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Sedona Rouge for two nights. We booked one night and enjoyed Sedona so much we booked a second night after we were there on the first day. We had to switch rooms because our first night room was already booked. The Red Rock Rooms are the best. Both Rooms were very nice. What we liked best about the Sedona Rouge was the staff. Everyone from the Check in Personnel to the Restaurant staff and especially the pool attendant, Kyle went over the top to accommodate us. The only drawback is the resort fee which brings up the cost of the room $19 per night for 2 waters and WIFI that did not work on the first night. But yes we would stay again!

Room Tip: Red Rock Views on 2nd and 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 102Lau102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very nice suite with a view of rock formations. We really enjoyed our stay. For the price, the sofa should have been comfortable. But everything else was fabulous. One other gripe, the mandatory spa fee. But maybe that's common in Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa

Property: Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Address: 2250 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sedona
#3 Business Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#13 Family Hotel in Sedona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
103 room boutique hotel and spa. Home of REDS Restaurant open daily for breakfast, lunch and meeting. Located in West Sedona with easy access to local attractions, dining and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Rouge Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing