We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaxaca Restaurant

Oaxaca Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 194 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With breath-taking scenery and beautiful views from our rooftop cantina, Oaxaca has earned it's title Local Secret/Big Find by Travelocity. This old world style Mexican restaurant located in Uptown Sedona offers casual family dining with an extensive menu Traditional and Modern Mexican flavors with a taste for everyone!
Toronto
Level Contributor
295 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Oaxaca Restaurant in Sedona. The view is spectacular so try and get a table near the window. I had the beef enchiladas and they were quite good. My Mom had a appetizer nachos which was a huge portion and could easily feed 3 people as their meals. My friend had the flautas and said that they were delicious. The one item that keeps my Mom coming back is their flan; she swears that it's the best flan that she's had and having traveled as much as she has, she's tried it in other places and still raves about this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
AWESOME! Thank you so much for being a return customer! We love the feedback from our regulars! :) And tell Mom thanks! We are ticked to know that she feels that way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    286
    226
    118
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Glad I had not read reviews before we went. We had a great lunch there. I was a bit leery of eating there since it looked a bit touristy, but we had a nice meal. We did the cactus appetizer, and I had posole as main course. There were 4 of us, and we were all pleased.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad to hear you had a good time and we look forward for to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stopped in for lunch this week and were let down. There were four of us, we all ordered lunch and three of us wanted margaritas. The waiter talked us into a pitcher saying it would be cheaper that way. The salsa was bland and tasted like tomato sauce. The food was mediocre at best. The bill came it was over $100. If you sit upstairs the view is incredible, but the food is not very good and way overpriced!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Oaxaca this month. Did you comment to the wait staff about the salsa? We do offer hotter and spicier salsas which you might have enjoyed more. All of our hotter salsas are on request only, as we do cater to such a large audience with such ranging tastes. We also gladly would have prepared you a new dish or an alternative if complaints were mentioned at the time to your server. The prices at Oaxaca are comparable to local restaurants in the Uptown corridor where we are located, so I am very sorry if you felt that was enough for the negative review. I do hope you'll give us a chance to make it up to you in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURPRICE
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“its the worse mexican food i have eat..soo far .”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

we try the shrimp tacos,,and the cactus tacos..shrimp was boil no flavor ,,cactus was from a can,the tortillas was cold..the salsa for the chips were from a can..no authentic whats soo ever.the chicken was not good..beans were from a can too..it was nothing authentic..you guys no better than that if you a managar reading this you should try your own food is nothing good...the place is really nice,,but the food is awful..que mala honda de manchar la comida mexicana..con comida de lata..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VICTORER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. Did you mention any of your complaints to your server? We gladly would have brought you another dish, or a substitute. We want all of our guests to leave happy with our food and our service. I am very sorry you didn't enjoy yourself while you were here. Your review will be shared with the staff. Thank you again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mediocre TexMex Not Worth the Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My general rule of thumb when I travel is to eat local dishes as much as possible. I should have known better as a Texan to trust Oaxaca a second time....it's just tries too hard to imitate TexMex with tasteless results...the now closed Sedona Taco Bell would have been better. You will need to go elsewhere for good southwestern cuisine (i.e. Barking Frog).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy Oaxaca. We do appreciate these comments though. Thank you for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaxaca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oaxaca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing