We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is best feature”
Review of Oaxaca Restaurant

Oaxaca Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 198 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With breath-taking scenery and beautiful views from our rooftop cantina, Oaxaca has earned it's title Local Secret/Big Find by Travelocity. This old world style Mexican restaurant located in Uptown Sedona offers casual family dining with an extensive menu Traditional and Modern Mexican flavors with a taste for everyone!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is best feature”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've seen the sign for Oaxaca on numerous trips driving through Sedona, but we've never had the opportunity to stop in to give it a try until a recent extended weekend stay. We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday in mid April. We were seated in a lovely room overlooking the Sedona 'strip'. The views were heavenly and it was a wonderful location from which to enjoy a vacation meal. Unfortunately, the food was just mediocre. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. With a location like Oaxaca has, it deserves to serve better food. The restaurant itself was clean and decorated slightly eclectically. The staff was extremely friendly. If the menu and food was improved, this place would be a destination not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how we’re doing, your comments will be given to management. Don’t forget to like us on Facebook to find out about all our specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    297
    233
    124
    170
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place, great food!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place was very nice with views of the red cliffs of Sedona. I would recommend to all Mexican food lovers:)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyt_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Oaxaca Restaurant and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO CAL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We Ate Here Twice in 1 Week!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Oaxaca serves the best chile relleno we've ever eaten, and we're from Southern California where Mexican restaurants abound! The Southwestern decor is attractive, and the restaurant features different dining areas and even upstairs patio dining. Delicious Margaritas, too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CATHRINESoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time at Oaxaca Restaurant! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Check your ticket”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you have any problem with stairs, that's your first challenge, but easily fixed...there is a side door for those who cannot manage the stairs. Our group (7) came into the restaurant via the stairs and upon entering, no one was there to seat us. Finally someone came up and told they would be with us in a moment, which they were. The server appeared to be fairly new. The food was okay, but pricey. At the end of our meal, the server gave us our tickets. I checked mine and found that I had been charged for TWO entrees. Instead of $12.45 (special of the day), it was $36 or something like that. Then, the other six ladies I was with checked theirs as well...every one of them had an additional entrée. I don't know who that happened, but the server did get it done, finally, but it was a mess trying to get it all straightened out,. He did comp a couple of things, which we appreciated. I won't say don't go here, but be sure to check your ticket! PS: a couple of stairs up to the ladies' bathroom, which I must say was quite "unique."

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azroadrunnergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We hope you will return and enjoy a wonderful meal without the mix up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Americanized Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped there for breakfast and it's your typical Mexican restaurant, the food was pretty good. It's a little Americanized meaning it's not very spicy. They were very accomodating about making a special entree for my husband who has severe egg allergies. Overall pretty good food, portions are huge, and it's cheap!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaxacarestraurant, Public Relations Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, as always we appreciate the feedback. Don’t forget to like us on Facebook and we hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaxaca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oaxaca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing