We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troia is the king of Italian cuisine”
Review of Troia's - CLOSED

Troia's
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving fresh delicious traditional Italian fare in Sedona since 1997! We source organic produce locally whenever available. Many of our menu items can easily be prepared gluten-free if you wish, by substituting the pasta or using gluten-free flour in the preparation, we also have gluten-free pizza dough,and we offer many great vegetarian options. Casual contemporary atmosphere,open exhibtion kitchen. Chef Shawn has been making our Patrons happy for almost 17 years,after Culinary School Shawn was trained in '97 by Sam #1,aka "Pop", who spent 70 years in the business, and whose recipes we proudly still serve!Sam and Rosanne Troia will be here to welcome you almost every evening, and do all we can for you to have a memorable evening. Chef Shawn is always here if we are not ~ Buon Aptitio!
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Troia is the king of Italian cuisine”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Troias.......what can I say. They have the best pizza, pasta and classic Italian dishes in town.
The 100+ year old cheesecake recipe is to die for. The atmosphere is stunning.
If you want an absolute stellar dining experience , go see troia.
Its like your family as soon as you sit down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adamimola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    62
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Owners and highly recommended”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were referred by Michael the chef at Adobe Grand villas. The braised short ribs were cooked to perfection with scrumptious polenta, and the Italian sausage pizza with thin crust was made like old Italy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JDCNECSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“the owners made our visit!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Troia's is a bistro-type, clean restaurant with an outdoor patio. The floor-to-ceiling windows offer an incredible view of the red rocks. The owners are extremely gracious and the food was good. We enjoyed the overhead music--not too loud so you could carry on a conversation. A delicious bread basket was delivered to the table with a choice of olive oil or butter. There wasn't a traditional eggplant parmigiano offered, however, they use the appetizer eggplant cakes as a base. The cakes are about one-half to one inch in thickness and was a soft texture. I missed the crispy/crunchy texture that I love with a traditional EP. My partner's steak was good. Overall this is a good restaurant, although overpriced and lacking in ambiance and privacy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SedonaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice enough”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The service was outstanding and we appreciated their attentiveness at such a late hour. The food was good - not outstanding but tasty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveling_professor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, lovely service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Found this place by happenstance in Sedona. Service was kind, prompt, and attentive. We had beef carpaccio & a sausage pizza, kids had small pizzas. Felt a bit nickel & dimed re: having to pay $2 for four slices of bread (what Italian place isn't pretty generous with the bread?!) but we gladly got a couple of baskets as it was tasty & we wanted some with our carpaccio. Food was very good, nothing outrageous, but quite tasty. Good beer/wine selection. Overall it was quite a tasty dinner at a lively but comfortable place. Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluejay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing