We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun restaurant with great food and reasonable prices”
Review of Marketplace Cafe - CLOSED

Marketplace Cafe
Price range: $10 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sedona Village restaurant with Live Entertainment. Specializing in variety and comfort food. Something for every age group. Great Steaks, Fresh Fish, Pasta, Ribs, Gourmet Pizza and Fresh Salads. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant with great food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife had pasta and I had a hamburger. Both were wonderful and the music on a Saturday night was great. Great menu and could of had anything from the burger to steak. Great location and the portions were large. Enough food to split with another person. Service was great and the wait staff was very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank melshas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    84
    48
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
455 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Say what you mean, and mean what you say!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friends and I arrived for happy hour and told the woman at the door we were here for it, and asked where we could be seated so we could talk with each other above the music playing through the sound system. We could sit outdoors....super! The waitress told us everything was half price and we asked if it included food and she said yes. Long story short, the woman who sat us does not take our order so the new waitress charges us regular prices because we were not sitting in the lounge for happy hour prices and food was full price. We do get our drinks at happy hour prices, but not the food. The food: the calamari had arrived not fully cooked or hot. It was returned and cooked correctly. The nachos now are with their homemade chips and with wheat....not okay for gluten-free person... quite honestly, never had nachos with anything but a corn tortilla chip, so back goes that meal and I order my stand-by Waldorf salad with grilled chicken. Why the manager could not discount our food....not asking it be done for everyone, but to honor what 4 of us heard we were told. We went to the Hilton for happy hour there. All of this was disappointing because a few of us come here for the music and a drink at other times....but life goes on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Burger, So So Steak, Spotty Service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recommended by a local B & B owner for a casual dinner. We went in on Tuesday night, rather early in the dinner service. Bar was busy, and focal point of the place. We were seated promptly in a far corner. Waitress was pleasant and friendly, drinks and water served promptly. Salad with my meal arrived quickly. Rather a long wait for the rest of the meal, we both had finished our drinks, and could have used refills. Another server brought the meal, but no ketchup for husband's fries, and no Bernaise sauce on my steak, as ordered. I was 1/3 of the way through before the original waitress returned, and we were asked how the meals were. Condiments were then provided. Husband's burger was good, my steak was a tad fatty, with a decent piece of gristle present on one end for the price, but properly cooked to order. Restaurant was clean, lovely Red Rock mural on wall, but could do without the "Hollywood" decor on the other side-not quite sure if two decorators with different mindsets did the interior?...strange...Overall, average meal, would go for a burger or dinner size salad again, but not steak.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spurgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Musician”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went there for a couple of dinners. Way too much to eat. Food was great. A fancier style restaurant than PJ's. Not too busy. Pricier than a bar or grille. 18.00 to 26.00 for dinner per person.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebossOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Place-The Marketplace Cafe”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had lunch and it was excellent. The waiter told us about the wine tasting on Wednesday nights and we were able to go twice. Great wines:about 10 or 11 choices for only $8.00 per person. Generous portions. Best happy hour in Sedona: all drinks 1/2 price. We recomment the Market Place Cafe! Good food and great bar!
We are from the Los Angeles area in CA

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing