We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, but just okay”
Review of 89Agave

89Agave
Reserve with OpenTable
89Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 196 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Sedona favorite and gathering place for decades, the all-new 89Agave is an outstanding Mexican restaurant with a fun, casual vibe, located in the heart of Uptown Sedona. Open for lunch and dinner, you'll enjoy authentic Sonoran-style Mexican cuisine, cooked simply, with the freshest of seasonal ingredients and served to you on our vibrant street-side patio or our Mexican art-inspired dining room. 89Agave also features an expansive copper-topped bar and an extensive selection of specialty tequilas, signature drinks and handcrafted margaritas, including a 100 percent organic Margarita that is out-of-this-world.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cute, but just okay”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was a hopping place, but our family (6 adults) found this Mexican cafe to be average. Nice wait staff, but just average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaliforniakathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    565
    248
    74
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ckmclements
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The food was most definitely good (the hubby said the fish tacos were the best he ever had), but it was a little pricier than we were anticipating. My prickly pear margarita cost more than any other prickly pear margarita I had the entire rest of the trip ($10). Also, unlike most Mexican restaurants, if you want to be eating chips and salsa, you'll be paying for them. Again, they were good, and convenient if you're out and about doing shopping on the tourist strip, but we ended up spending $60 for a meal for 2 people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckmclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice day at Sedona”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Today was very nice in Sedona and very relaxing and refreshing to sit at the mister covered outdoor table at Taos Cantina. Had the pozole which matched up well to the traditional style. Good happy hour prices on their drafts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrlar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed a nice meal on the outdoor patio. I got the chimichanga and my husband got the fajitas. The flavored were good for both, and the meat was very juicy and tender. We also got the chips and salsa, and although they charge for it, the salsa was bee tasty. We will definitely be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank maja651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Yummy Choice in Uptown”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

While browsing around town and checking out the shops, we happened across Taos Cantina. What a belly-satisfying find! If you like seafood you must try the Mexican Street Tacos - Chile Crusted Sea Bass & Mango Salsa. Yummy! My partner ordered the Steak Sizzling Fajitas which were just as delicious. The service was excellent and loved dining on their patio with the misters cooling us down. I must say though, I was a little surprised that we weren't (automatically) served chips and salsa. I guess it was an expectation I had from the Mexican restaurants we dine at here in Vegas. Oh well. We ended up not having any room for more food anyway. Give them a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PsykoPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 89Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing