We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful View with Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shugrues Sedona Hillside Grill - CLOSED

Shugrues Sedona Hillside Grill
Price range: $31 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: In the Hillside Shops
Buchanan, Michigan
Level Contributor
324 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Wonderful View with Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner and lunch at Shugres. The Tilapia, shrimp, and Hillside Burger were quite good. The last was the weakest. Be sure to leave room for desert. The only problem was the hostess for lunch who had difficulty keeping track of what was going. Otherwise, service was good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    128
    55
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“View 5, Food 2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

While Shugrue's affords a great perspective of Sedona's red rocks, the overall experience is unremarkable. Service was excruciatingly slow. Once our meals came, the food quality was only fair--the ingredients were of a good standard, but the preparation was either mediocre or head-scratchingly unusual.

We only had one meal in Sedona. There have to be better choices than Shugrue's.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ATexanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views with Mouthwatering Steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My girlfriend and I went here as a nice dinner while we were enjoying our stay in Sedona. We were not disappointed, the views were incredible and the food was even better. The service wasn't the best, but hey you can't get everything. Be sure to get there early enough though to enjoy the views because that is what really makes the place and price worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
256 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What's the Fuss?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went here for supper on our last night in Sedona. Again this is a 3 star rated establishment, but certainly is not three stars in my opinion. It is beautiful inside and has a great view if you get the right seating. The service is incredibly slow and the food average at best.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gmet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ask for Wendy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Went for lunch during my visit and ordered the Ginger Walnut Salad- Ahi Tuna Focaccia with a Jalapeño Cilantro Margarita I can not believe how great the food and drink was.Also first time in four ever that I had the service that was given by Wendy.What a delight this waitress knows her job without a doubt. I have to say you better keep this waitress she's one of the best in a long time and I travel all over the country. Honestly she made that dinning experience. Will be back to see her and recommend her to all my friends.Thank you so much Wendy..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedsKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shugrues Sedona Hillside Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing