We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rene at Tlaquepaque

Rene at Tlaquepaque
Ranked #15 of 190 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sedona Restaurant RENE at Tlaquepaque has been the home of casual fine dining for more than thirty nine years and is still winning awards. Diners appreciate the relaxed fine dining ambiance, attentive and pleasant service, and of course, outstanding food and wines. Locals, tourists and celebrities have made RENE a favorite for lunch and dinner. Make your visit to Sedona special ... Dine with us at RENE, fine food in casual elegant surroundings in Tlaquepaque
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderfully inventive food. Excellent choices available. We had duck crepes, mushroom streudel and the Sand Dabs. Great presentation and great flavours. Very well done. Service was very good, attentive but not overbearing. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xeubguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    221
    95
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FRESNO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a very nice lunch experience at Rene. We had never visited before but we will go back for sure. Prices were reasonable, the food was excellent and we got very good service, so what more could we ask for?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having only eaten here once, for lunch, I will say my experience was a great one. The atmosphere was excellent, as well as the service and food. My lunchmates had eaten here before but it had been awhile, and they too loved the lunch at Rene's. Very fine quality in all aspects of the dining experience. I very much look forward to future visits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Michelin Star Dining (with chain steakhouse pricing)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband surprised me with a birthday weekend in Sedona and for my celebratory dinner, he took me to Rene. We had been there a couple of days already and had experienced quite a few of the bigger named restaurants for our lunches and dinners. They were all nice restaurants but they do not compare to Rene. From the minute we walked in, we were treated impeccably. The food was Michelin star quality, the service and atmosphere was perfect and the prices were unbelievably reasonable. The average main course cost was between $24-$32 which is only slightly more than you would pay at a chain steakhouse! Not to mention that it is equivalent or cheaper than what the other restaurants in Sedona charge for their lesser quality, casual dining entrees. Without a doubt, if I had discovered this restaurant first then I would not have eaten at any other restaurant for during our visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best Lamb and Duck Experience Yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We come to Rene' at Tlaquepaque every visit to Sedona for their lamb and duck. During a one week stay we will dine here one night for lamb and one night for duck. If you are wanting a steak or filet I cannot recommend coming here and suggest the Cowboy Club. During one visit, one of our guests had the scallops that were great, although there were only three served with the sides. Rene's is pricey if you include appetizers/salads, before dinner drinks and wine, entree, and deserts. Easily $100 per person when you include everything.

With the lamb, if you order for two you get a full rack and for one a 1/2 rack. Typically when ordering lamb at a restaurant you will get 1/3 or three "lollipops." With the duck, it is a full duck. Both were prepared perfectly.

Our server was quite knowledgeable about the wines available, when given a range did not automatically go for the most expensive. Overall, from service to food to wine selection, both evenings were quite enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rene at Tlaquepaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing