We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated.”

Rene at Tlaquepaque
Ranked #16 of 195 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Southwestern, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sedona Restaurant RENE at Tlaquepaque has been the home of casual fine dining for more than thirty nine years and is still winning awards. Diners appreciate the relaxed fine dining ambiance, attentive and pleasant service, and of course, outstanding food and wines. Locals, tourists and celebrities have made RENE a favorite for lunch and dinner. Make your visit to Sedona special ... Dine with us at RENE, fine food in casual elegant surroundings in Tlaquepaque
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overrated.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My spouse and I ate here for lunch because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were very disappointed. First of all, even for lunch the prices seemed too high for the quality and amount of food. The bread brought before our meal, even though warm, tasted a little stale. My husband ordered a cheeseburger which he thought was okay, and I ordered the mushroom streudel which was unimpressive and very small. The streudel itself was very small, and all it came with was a few vegetables. Also, I thought the decor was dated, inauthentic, and tacky. I will not eat here again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonleeballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    225
    99
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“French Food in Sedona”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Sit in the patio area for lunch or drinks. Food is generally good here and the wine selection is decent. It has a scenic location within the Tlaquepaque complex featuring many galleries and shops.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxFirstTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good fine dining in Sedona”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Romantic french inspired fine dining in the heart of Tlaquepaque. Good meal with great service.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank AZSunDevilFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Tucked away in a corner of the Tlaquepaque shopping complex is this charming little bistro with indoor or patio dining areas. We were only there for lunch, but even that was memorable. The gazpacho was fresh off the vine with just the right blend of tart and sweet and the tomato bisque was a gourmet treat. The basil-crusted salmon salad was a unique and delightful combination of ingredients while the BLT had applewood smoked bacon cooked perfectly-not too crisp and not too soggy. In summary, this was one of the best lunches and lunch menus I have experienced at relatively reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ACK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“French Flair in the Red Rocks”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The food was absolutely delicious. It was a little pricey but I think it was worth it for a nice evening out. The staff were entertaining and very accommodating.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rene at Tlaquepaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing