We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pizza, attentive service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen

Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen
Ranked #24 of 190 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Healthy Italian inspired cuisine artfully handcrafted. Pizza, Pasta, Salad, Quinoa Bowls, Desserts, kids menu, etc. Best gluten-free and allergy friendly menu in Arizona. Many vegetarian and vegan options. Full bar serving handcrafted cocktails and local craft beers with daily healthy hours.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

We chose Picazzo mainly because it was walking distance from our hotel - though we did check TripAdvisor reviews - and it turned out to be an excellent choice. Excellent, friendly service from the moment we walked through the door: water provided instantly and drinks very quickly, and drinks were kept topped up throughout our meal. Food also came quickly, but clearly freshly prepared.

We had a 'build your own' pizza, and it was delicious: light, thin crust, and deliciously-flavoured ingredients. And we chose the Asian salad to have as a side, and that was truly the best salad I've ever had. We substituted the romaine/iceberg mix for spinach, and honestly I'd recommend changing the menu to offer this salad with spinach! The dressing was very flavourful, light and tangy without being overpowering.

Just one thing we were a little disappointed over: we had considered having wine with our meal, but would have preferred a half-bottle. Wine was offered only by the glass or full bottle, and we just didn't want a full bottle.

And a recommendation for future diners: if there are two of you, you do need at least the medium pizza. It's shown on the menu as serving 2-4 people. No; it's just about big enough for two. We were perfectly happy with the size as it was perfect for us, but anyone thinking there'd be leftovers or that it would be large enough for more people - no. Order a large instead.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaWideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, Manager at Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a fabulous review. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    494
    182
    84
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a delight for anyone with food allergies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I have both a gluten and dairy allergy so dining out is not always an easy endeavor. It was so refreshing to not have to try and explain what I could and could not eat to our server! The food is so fresh I just loved dining at this restaurant! My husband who has no allergies equally enjoyed our meal. We had the homemade hummus for an appetizer which was excellent and the gluten free Thai pizza with non-dairy cheese for dinner. I have tried many different gluten free pizzas and this was one of the best I have ever eaten! We plan on going back at least one more time before we leave town to try a few more dishes on their menu. BTW, Great wine list too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debbyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, Manager at Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Hi Debby,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a fabulous review, we truly appreciate the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and didn't have a tough time finding something that worked with your dietary restrictions. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous, affordable, healthy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I had the California thin crust pizza; my dining partner had the kale salad--both were very imaginative and delicious. The ambiance is attractive and comfortable--even classy--both inside and out. The staff is superb. They use very fresh, organic ingredients and often offer more healthy alternatives like turkey meatballs in marinara sauce. There are many choices for vegans and vegetarians, but it is definitely not a vegetarian restaurant. It is a restaurant that will surprise and please you with its high quality food and service. Don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lionel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, Manager at Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Lionel,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a fantastic review! We truly appreciate all the kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal with us! We hope to see you again if you return to Arizona! Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“Average pizza and salad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The crust was not flavorful and the pizza just didn't
work. The salad was not great either, and the cost
was high for such bland food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, Manager at Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Tania,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback, it's always appreciated. We are so sorry you had such a negative experience with us. We will be sure to use your feedback to make improvements. Thank you again, have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing KALE salad - perhaps the best I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I dined here TWICE (which we RARELY do) during our Sedona vacation, as we just HAD to come back for ANOTHER KALE SALAD!! The only one I can compare it to is one I've had at SNOB (Slightly North of Broad) in Charleston, SC (our home). If you know anything about Charleston, we can easily fine dine for months without repeating the same restaurant, so this is a HUGE compliment! I must say Picazzo's Kale salad is a total TIE to SNOB! My husband also enjoyed the pizza, which was his best EVER!!! I devoured their lentil soup (their special for the second day), as that was so DELISH! We loved the atmosphere (we ate at the bar both days during lunch), & the friendliness of their staff. One of the bartenders gave us excellent "tourist" advice, & excellent "local" advice. Thanks, Picazzo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, Manager at Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Laine,

Thank you so much for giving us such an incredible review, we truly appreciate it! We are so glad you enjoyed your meals with us. If we know anything about Charleston, we know the food is phenomenal, so we're honored by the compliment. Thanks again, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Picazzo's Organic Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing