We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Celiac's dream come true”

Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 199 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Healthy Italian inspired cuisine artfully handcrafted. Pizza, Pasta, Salad, Quinoa Bowls, Desserts, kids menu, etc. Best gluten-free and allergy friendly menu in Arizona. Many vegetarian and vegan options. Full bar serving handcrafted cocktails and local craft beers with daily healthy hours in the bar only.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Everything on the menu is gluten free (with the exception of two items). With that said, it is not only GF, but it's tasty as well. I had the chipotle chicken pasta - the pasta noodles were fresh and did not taste dense and gummy like gf noodles can - even reheated the next day they are good. My husband ordered the gf pizza and for me it was good as well (he doesn't have to eat GF, so it was just "okay" for him). The kids had cheese pizza on regular crust and mac and cheese - they both enjoyed it.

The wait staff were friendly and gave us some good tips on some things to see and do while we were in town. The food took about 20 minutes to get to us.

Because I knew what I was getting, gf-wise, we came back later in the week to eat again. If you're used to gf being dense in texture and just a "little less" than what you could eat before you had to go gf, you need to give Picazzo's a try. I enjoyed getting to eat good food again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SarahDiFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Sarah,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a great review, we truly appreciate it. We're so glad you and your family were able to dine with us and enjoy your meal. Thank you again for the review, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,034 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great pizza! Very healthy organic menu. Friendly staff. Nice atmosphere. Would have liked to see more pasta selections.

Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi Jen, thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a great review, we truly appreciate it. We're so glad you had a pleasant experience with us. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We eat here often when in Sedona and it never disappoints. The food is always fresh and organic. The service is excellent and the menu is varied and unique.

Thank 231LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a stellar review, we truly appreciate it! We're glad you enjoy our food and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The reviews we read inspired us to make the trip.

We had called in advance to see if there would be space and if we'd need to reserve. They told us that we were in for a fifteen minute wait as they did not accept reservations. When we arrived, we were taken straight to a table, discounting that. The place itself was somewhat clean, but run down. Looked like it could use a good cleaning and a few fresh coats of paint.

Our waiter, it seemed, was always busy and rushed. There was a fair amount of help, and less than a third of the place was occupied, so there really was no need for the curtness. None of the waiters seemed to enjoy working there, and could barely spare any time to glance at us. The waiter, as he took our order, forgot to ask the normal things - do you want ice in your lemonade, thin crust or thick, etc - which was probably due to him being all over the place and running about.

We had dessert first, which, to be fair, was yummy; the seven-dollar gluten-free brownie with coconut ice cream served three or more, and the citrus cake was nice enough.

The broccoli curry was first and foremost nothing to do with Italian cuisine. Secondly, it was badly made. The idea was nice enough, but it was poorly executed. A big mistake they made was not putting any milk or cream (traditionally, coconut) in the sauce, so it was just curry and oil, which was both assaulting to the palate and the eyes.

The other prices were ridiculous; the base of our medium gluten free pizza was fifteen-dollars to start, plus six toppings, including dairy-free cheese, which amounted to thirty-five-dollars (with tax). Which is insane, for a pizza which's crust was rock-hard and took a minute each time to cut with a table knife, upon which we gave up and used our hands. Otherwise, it would've been good, if pricey. Other main meals were about fifteen-bucks a piece, and this is far from fancy dining.

They call themselves "organic Italian kitchen" however not much is actually organic/ local. They serve meat, and are not completely gluten free nor vegan. Both of those things could be improved upon with some dedication.

All in all not worth going to. You will not leave hungry, but you won't be satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi Mariam,

Thank you for reaching out to us. We're sorry to hear about your negative experience. We appreciate your insight and will use your input to help better our service and restaurant overall. Thank you and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I know that gluten-free is all the rage right now but this restaurant made me not even miss the gluten. They do so many things right I felt like I needed to eat everything on the menu before I would be satisfied. Its a must visit when going to Sedona.

Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Manager at Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Hi Jen, thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us such a great review, we truly appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope you stop by again if you return to Sedona! Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Picazzo's Healthy Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing