We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Mexican food”
Review of Javelina Cantina

Javelina Cantina
Ranked #30 of 196 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Javelina Cantina is located in the Hillside Shopping Center. We offer traditional Sonoran Mexican cuisine. All of our food is housemade fresh daily and cooked to order, using the finest and freshest ingredients available. We offer indoor and outdoor patio dining with spectacular views of Sedona whether you're seated inside or out. Happy hour is from 3:00 to 6:00 daily. Please join us for Sedona's finest Mexican Cuisine. Visit us near sunset and you just might get a show, we usually see Javelina's on the north side of the restaurant around sunset.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Mexican food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Once you get past the "Sedona price tag", this restaurant has delicious, fresh food. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed he perfect Sedona weather. There are even real javelina that come to feed near the restaurant's patio. Our server was attentive and the food tasted great. It is a little outside the craziness of Uptown Sedona so it has a quieter, more relaxed feel to it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    708
    269
    81
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“delicious food and a nice view”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited at lunch, and both enjoyed far more delicious food than either of us could eat. The salsa was some of the best we had on our trip! The service was very good as well. We had chips and salsa at our table within 30 seconds of being seated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere but service could have been better”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food was very good but not better than many other Mexican restaurants in Sedona. The atmosphere was very pleasant with outdoor tables if the weather permits. The service was just adequate - I had to go the hostess to ask for our bill. I wouldn't mind going back but with so many other options, I probably won't.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professor-Zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fair, expensive Mexican food.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our experience at Javelina Catina was unimpressive. Our party of 4 was seated in the middle of the restaurant(no view). Our waiter was enthusiastic, but disappeared for long periods of time. The food was abundant, but uninspiring. They forgot my wife's order, so we all had to wait until its arrival. The prices are a little high, but I guess it's Sedona, so why question it. It wasn't bad, just sort of disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ltcjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Javelina Cantina”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Referred by a local shopkeeper, we found this little gem of a restaurant. I am sometimes hesitant to order chili verde at restaurants because I always end up comparing it to my Mom's and end up rather disappointed. However, the chili verde at Javelina was excellent, the salmon tostada my husband ordered looked too good to eat and the overall service, quality of food and ambiance was extremely good. Definitely will go back here next time I am in Sedona.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javelina Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Javelina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing