We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Javelina Cantina-Sedona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Javelina Cantina

Javelina Cantina
Ranked #27 of 190 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Javelina Cantina is located in the Hillside Shopping Center. We offer traditional Sonoran Mexican cuisine. All of our food is housemade fresh daily and cooked to order, using the finest and freshest ingredients available. We offer indoor and outdoor patio dining with spectacular views of Sedona whether you're seated inside or out. Happy hour is from 3:00 to 6:00 daily. Please join us for Sedona's finest Mexican Cuisine. Visit us near sunset and you just might get a show, we usually see Javelina's on the north side of the restaurant around sunset.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Javelina Cantina-Sedona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

YUM !!! So happy our Jeep driver recommended!!! We stayed 10 days in Sedona and were sorry to say found many eateries just OK and expensive!! Javelina Cantina saved us lol Food was delicious and authentic!! Large portion, I took some home for later and we had lunch for 2 .. shared a desert and 2 beverages for less than $50!! We were paying $40 + for nasty burgers...sorry we did not get back for seconds!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    671
    259
    77
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, lacking in customer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Recommended by our Hotel. The bartender acted like we were invisible. Asked if I wanted salt on my Margarita, I said NO, came with a salted glass. (Margarita was good) Hardly looked at us. Were thinking about leaving, but too hungry. Our waiter was wonderful and the food really was very good. Hey folks, remember your Hostess and Bartender are the first impressions that you give to the customer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim38EdenPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food good, hostess not so much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Thursday night. It was our first meal in Sedona. The hostess was not welcoming, and I agree with another reviewer that their goal was just to get us out quickly. I thought she knew we weren't local so didn't feel the need to be friendly. However, the food was good and it arrived promptly. Otherwise I'd give them a lower rating. I probably would not return because I want to feel that my business was appreciated. Any hostess makes a definite first .impression and this one was not so good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn70820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of best in Sedona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

There food was so good we went there twice in a week. One of the best Mexican Food restaurants I've eaten in. Be sure to try the blackened cat fish Relleno. Also, the Maserita (margarita) was great too. Service was also excellent. Great View.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank orbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
718 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food in Sedona!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We come to Sedona often and are always looking for a new restaurant to try. We have been going to another Mexican Restaurant in Seonda for many years now, but the last time we did not find it that great anymore and the prices had gone up. So we tried Javelina Cantina and the food was great. The restaurant has great views, the food was great with large portions, good chips and salsa and the service was outstanding! We will come back here when we return and have a new favorite Mexican Restaurant in Sedona!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javelina Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Javelina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing