We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here several....”
Review of Javelina Cantina

Javelina Cantina
Ranked #30 of 195 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Javelina Cantina is located in the Hillside Shopping Center. We offer traditional Sonoran Mexican cuisine. All of our food is housemade fresh daily and cooked to order, using the finest and freshest ingredients available. We offer indoor and outdoor patio dining with spectacular views of Sedona whether you're seated inside or out. Happy hour is from 3:00 to 6:00 daily. Please join us for Sedona's finest Mexican Cuisine. Visit us near sunset and you just might get a show, we usually see Javelina's on the north side of the restaurant around sunset.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Been here several....”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

times over the years and will say our most recent visit was the best so far. Seated promptly, great margaritas arrived forthwith and Chicken veggie burritos were the best we've ever had. All that said there is an inconsistency to what Javelina Cantina delivers. A previous visit I'd give it an average but this most recent visit a very good. Seems they can do a good job, just not all the time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RollingIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    712
    271
    81
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
az
1 review
“good service ...good food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Night out to dinner with the girls. great service ..great food.....portions were large and turned into a lunch snack the next day! Hillside is a great place for shopping and dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merryaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallinford Connecticut
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“busy and popular”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am not a fan of Mexican food, but my wife, daughter and two grandaughters are. Very enjoyable. Very prompt service, great drinks, lots of food choices. All five were pleased with meal choices.. Very popular place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“UGH!!!!!! Find somewhere else!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ok! Off to a great start with service. We were seated immediately, drink orders taken/received quickly. By the time food arrived, the fajita did not come with cheese and it took 10 minutes once we asked. THEN, as I finished my taco salad, I attempted to scoop one last bit of guac onto my dish and there it was!!!! A BLACK HAIR strewn throughout my guac. I did all I could NOT to hurl. By this point, we had already ordered a second round of drinks but never saw our waiter for 15 minutes. Apparently, the blender broke... NEWSFLASH!!!!! My "margarita on the rocks" and my husband's bottled beer do not require a blender! CANCEL THE DRINKS, WE'LL take the bill!!!! Ironically enough, the table next to us of two young girls still got their drinks AND they were "on the house." How can people frequent this establishment and what's more, how can people pawn this off as "authentic"? STAY AWAY..............

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erinmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Steak Fajitas were good”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a good fajita lunch. My husband really enjoyed the steak - I had chicken - also good. There's plenty of food; in fact, I brought half home for lunch the next day. My husband managed to finish his. The margaritas were quite good tho the second seemed much stronger than the first. We received warm chips and salsa, which were refilled, when we were seated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Javelina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing