We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and view”
Review of Javelina Cantina

Javelina Cantina
Ranked #31 of 198 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Javelina Cantina is located in the Hillside Shopping Center. We offer traditional Sonoran Mexican cuisine. All of our food is housemade fresh daily and cooked to order, using the finest and freshest ingredients available. We offer indoor and outdoor patio dining with spectacular views of Sedona whether you're seated inside or out. Happy hour is from 3:00 to 6:00 daily. Please join us for Sedona's finest Mexican Cuisine. Visit us near sunset and you just might get a show, we usually see Javelina's on the north side of the restaurant around sunset.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, service and view”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place is located over in the Hillside Sedona off of AZ 179 not too far from Tlaquepaque. Lots of neat shops in the Hillside Sedona center. Food was okay, too much food and a bit pricey. But then it is a tourist town and the service was good (especially given it was diner time), so may be it is not that pricey. The restaurant has some really nice views and patio seating. Next time I am back up in Sedona I'll be sure to come during lunch and get out on the patio. I was not happy though to find corn hidden in my rice (I don't understand why some Mexican places do that). The chicken enchiladas were giant and I was only able to barley finish one.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    732
    277
    82
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,670 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,332 helpful votes
“15 Minutes too long to wait”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stopped in and asked for a table on the deck which they readily provided as they were not busy. 15 minutes went by without any acknowledgement that we were there. A total of five staff members went back and forth on the deck and we are taking six table out there. My usual time to wait to be acknowledged is 12 minutes; a little longer if they are busy, but never more than 15, So, we left and went to Sedona and had a terrific lunch with a great mountain view. I'm sorry not to be able to comment on their food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, great food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant in newer shopping center. Food was amazing and priced competitively for Sedona. What stood out was the the flavorful ness of the food and the friendliness of our server, Craig. He took the time to answer our 3 year old's questions about javalina's and even showed him pictures of the local javalina's on his cell phone. Would recommend and will likely go back. Huge portions and the kids meals even come with a sundae. Great find!

Helpful?
Thank Jnanderson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Expensive for Average Lunch”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Came on a rainy day, so couldn't sit outside and did not get a window table, so limited views. Restaurant nicely decorated and not crowded at all during lunch on a weekday. Lunch portions are large but everything tasted very bland, no spicing at all (and I don't mean spicy-hot, just spiceless/tasteless). Had the chicken mole enchiladas and it had good quality meat, but the sauce was like runny, bland chocolate syrup. Margarita was very watered down. Service was good until a large party came in, then we lost our server for the second half of our meal and had to ask the hostess for water refills and our bill. Very disappointed and expensive for lunch. If you want dumbed down bland versions of texmex meals, this is your place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aventura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We pulled in to Sedona and cosulted our navigation system for a nearby restaurant. Javelina Canina was close and we gave it a try. Glad we did. We sat outside, it was a beautiful day. Wait service was top notch and the food was delicious. If we had time we would have gone back for dinner. Don't miss this terriffic Sedona restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHILRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Javelina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing