We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks and margaritas, uneven sides, appys.”

Cowboy Club Grille & Spirits
Ranked #37 of 198 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $44
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: American Dining With A Southwest Bark!
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great steaks and margaritas, uneven sides, appys.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

GF had a Dos Flores margarita (made with elderflower liqueur -Yum!) and the ribeye steak. I had the 8oz buffalo tenderloin. We split the Appetizer Sampler for Two, which included cactus fries, buffalo ancho skewer, rattlesnake bites and native fry bread.. The appetizer was so-so, nothing to write home about. The steak and the tenderloin were superb, the buffalo was amazingly tender. Skip the offered roasted onions and sauteed mushrooms, they weren't worth it, almost bland. Server Alex was exemplary. I had originally ordered a local stout and the elk chops, but they were out of both.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    1,102
    474
    126
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best of the Best! Just GO!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was the best I ever had! bar none! John was our server and he should give lesson on how it should be done! Just the right amount of cowboy and fast hot food. The cactus fries were amazing! the bison burger the best I have ever had. We always go to Cowboy club when in Sedona and it is always super!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beauty1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We tried a different more popular restaurant first but didn't want to wait 45 minutes. So we drove into town and spotted this place which was recommended in a travel book. We were looking for Southwest cuisine in a cowboy atmosphere and this was the perfect match. We never ate rattlesnake or cactus fries before tonight so decided to give it a try and it did not disappoint. The bison was excellent. Don't worry there are plenty of ordinary meat dishes here too. Very happy with all of the good choices for our table. Highly recommend. Thank you for this experience.

Helpful?
Thank Ironfamily140_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake havasu city, az
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing food with great views!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

my husband and i set out on the patio, we were able to see the sun set and boy was it pretty! Alex was our server and he was a doll. the food is amazing. we started with an appetizer that had a little of everything. I recommend getting it, it has rattle snake, buffalo, and cactus fries, and some sort of bread thing. We also shared a rib eye steak we were stuffed after all of that yummy food. oh through out the meal Alex brought out little goodies. next time we are in Sedona we will be going there again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happiness4all11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Excellent Casual Dining in Uptown Sedona”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I recent spent three nights in Uptown Sedona. On the first night we stopped by Cowboy Club for supper. There was a 20 minute wait but they had a bar so we took a pager and sat by the bar, though they invite you to walk around, up to a half-mile away as you wait for your table, so waiting is really not an issue. After a 20 minute wait we were sat in Solandra's section. Solandra is one of the best waitresses we ever had! She was completely attentive to our needs without being intrusive. She clearly understands the concept of hospitality. The first night we split a rack of ribs. We loved the experience so much that we ended up eating at the Cowboy Club 4 times (3 times for dinner and 1 for lunch) in the three days were were in Sedona. Each meal was great as was the service (pork chops, bison burger, and chill). Cowboy Club is reasonably priced ($15-$30 a plate). Fare is American with a casual (jeans) atmosphere. There is also a full bar with flights of both whiskey and tequila as well as a large selection of various margaritas. We highly recommend that you request Solandra when you go. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowboy Club Grille & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing