We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun. And good.”

Cowboy Club Grille & Spirits
Ranked #36 of 198 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $44
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: American Dining With A Southwest Bark!
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fun. And good.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I thought the atmosphere was a blast, even though it was somewhat touristy. It took a pretty long time for our food to come out, but they were busy. I got the Clay Pot chicken which was fabulous. It came with a ton of vegatables, which was great, but the sauce was a little like flavored chicken fat, so I went easy on it. Great meal. And Taos, across the street has a reputation of not being good at all. We went by and heard a server apologizing to a patron, promising to bring him another of what he ordered, so that sealed the deal for us and we went over to Cowboy Club and we're glad we did

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 333kimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,261
    1,101
    474
    126
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another tourist rip off!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Sat outside which was nice but kept looking across the street at the mexican place, Taos, where we ate the night before. Cowboy club was expensive and my wife's supposed great Prime Rib was over cooked. We tried to send it back for another and the waiter said "We don't have any more, you got the last one". So he gave us a discount, $20 for a $30 Prime Rib which she could only eat half of. My Filet was good, but small and served with rock hard veggies. Will never go there again. I highly recommend crossing the street and having some great tex-mex.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hawksreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Fun Place in Downtown Sedona”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had lunch here sitting outside and ordered the sampler with cactus fries, buffalo meat balls and snake appetizers of some sort and a marguerita of course. It was fun to try those things and great to sit outside on the patio with the mist shooting around the edges.

We went back for dinner, after our jeep tour, because we wanted to eat in downtown Sedona on our last night. Again it was great to sit on the patio but dinner wasn't so great. It was expensive and the portions were very small.

It is an OK place but mostly a bit of a tourist trap. We were enjoying Sedona and willing to be trapped so we didn't mind so much. I am sure if you are familiar will Sedona there are better places to eat.. But it was fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Upper Sedona Tourist Location”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Well ..... it captures your eye .... has many unique items on the menu such as cactus fries and rattlesnake meatballs, but as others have said, it is probably not where many local residents decide to go for a meal.
Service is friendly, prompt and attentive .... I must acknowledge that as well as well prepared and flavorful menu selections .... but on the pricy side.
A unique location and maybe a good place to say you were there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Touristy Sedona still worth a taste”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Want to eat cactus fries and rattlesnake meatballs, go here. Its not going to be the best meal of your life, but it will give you something to talk about when you get home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowboy Club Grille & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing