We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi”

Hiro's Sushi & Japanese Kitchen
Ranked #79 of 198 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently ate at Hiro's for an anniversary dinner with my husband and daughter. The sushi was excellent and the staff was very accomodating to my almost 3 year old daughter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Number One sushi!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I love sushi and were thrilled to find Hiro's on our trip. Hiro's is genuine Japanese. We ordered edamame, seaweed salad, rainbow roll, salmon sashimi, salmon roe, and California roll, followed by Mango ice cream and green tea ice cream. Everything was delicious and tender. My California roll was the best I have ever had.

My husband had an Asahi beer and I had a glass of the Reisling and it was SOOO good!

Service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Great place for couples, family or friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeeMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect meal to end a perfect stay in Sedona!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hiro's came highly recommended by locals that we met during our adventures in Sedona. What a treat to have top notch Sushi in Sedona!!! Awesome staff and food. A very welcoming restaurant. We sat at the Sushi bar and the Sushi chef was personable, attentive, a true artist, and the Sushi was fresh, tender - we could go on and on. A must visit while in Sedona!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristiTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“One of the Better Restaurant Choices in Sedona”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hiro's is my #1 preference for food in Sedona. They do a really good job and their new smaller location on 89A by Kudos is more intimate and friendly than the old location @ the Hyatt Plaza. The food is well prepared, artistic, and delicious. The service is kind and attentive. Everyone makes you feel welcomed. I've spent the last two+ decades in and out of Sedona and for some reason the restaurant business there has always been challenged. I suppose it has more to do with the constantly transient population. People are awe struck by the red rocks, move there, for one reason or another, and quickly discover it is difficult to earn a living and actually live in Sedona for very long. The mystical nature of the environment soon wears off and reality sets in. The average pay scale in Sedona is only around $9/hr. Who can live on that in one of the highest cost towns in the entire country? So now you understand why restaurants in Sedona have their challenges. I've eaten at Hiro's many times and have never had a bad meal. Try some of their excellent appetizers [age dashi tofu, shrimp shumai, mussels]. The best value for your dollar is their Bonito Box which has an assortment of various foods to choose from. They also have great green tea or mango ice cream for desert. The only suggestion I have for this restaurant is that they BREW their hot tea and serve it in a Japanese tea pot rather than serving you one cup of hot water and a tea bag. Hiro's is open for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I guess you shouldn't expect great sushi in AZ but we knew we were headed for more Southwest cuisine so thought we'd get something different. The sushi was fine and the selection was good. The service was also very nice. It just wasn't anything special. That being said, I would not avoid it next time I was in Sedona. I'm just spoiled by West Coast sushi!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiro's Sushi & Japanese Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Hiro's Sushi & Japanese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing