We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little peace of heaven in the woods.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Butterfly Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven in the woods.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins in Sedona as a two night stop off whilst travelling round the south west of US. We were completely thrilled by the cabin and wonderful breakfast delivered each morning. Frank ( who owns the site with his wife) welcomed us on the first evening and couldn't have been more helpful. It is clear that the cabins are a labour of love and that the welfare and enjoyment of the guests is paramount. Sedona town is approx 8 miles away and you do really need a car to get about (no surprises there) but I think that makes this location all the better. Do not hesitate to book up a stay at the Butterfly garden inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetTravelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
82
87
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This was quite an enchanted place to hold a wedding. The grounds were very well maintained and the cabins were immaculate and well stocked with silverware, plates and minimal pots and pans, and outdoor gas grills. The owners Nichole and Frank are friendly, accommodating, and hospitable. Our families and friends were very impressed by the way they were treated throughout their stay, and we all enjoyed our personalized morning picnic baskets. This is definitely a top notch place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahala, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We have been spending time at Don Hoels cabins in Oak Creek Canyon each fall for years. When the property changed hands I was concerned that it wouldn't be the same. We wanted a place to celebrate my daughter's college graduation. It was perfect. The staff and owners are very friendly. The cabins are still homey and now there's a homemade breakfast delivered to the cabin in a basket each morning. I love the solitude and beauty and the lack of a cell phone signal. There's no tv in the cabin, and my daughter and I spent our evenings playing board games and talking..it was great. We spent a morning hiking westfork, which was as beautiful as ever. I spent a lot of my time out in one of the chairs reading while the breeze blew through the pines. I look forward to coming back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Branychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We loved this place! The location was great for all the hiking trails nearby. The cabin was comfortable, clean and cozy thanks to the electric fireplace. I loved the breakfast baskets too. We had to leave at 5am the morning of departure and they prepared a basket for us the night before to take with us on the drive to the airport. Since it is a 20 min or so drive to the city center, it was great to have a kitchen to prepare our meals after a long day of hiking. (We stayed in 04 Gabb's Checkerspot)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYork_NYTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This place just does everything right. I don’t have a single complaint, to be honest...and that's a first. My husband and I wanted a quiet get-away for a few days this past December before the holidays and after some searching found this lovely place in Oak Creek Canyon. The property is charming, not-too-rustic, but still gives you that "in the woods" feeling as each cabin is separate and nestled among the grounds. Very private, but only a minute or two walk to the main lobby/office and on-site general store. Property is well located along the highway, and only about a 10 minute drive into the main town of Sedona.

Owners Frank and Nicole are the most gracious hosts - accommodations were made for our late arrival and they even planned a special surprise for our anniversary - how thoughtful. Their hospitality and attention to detail as business owners really makes a difference. We stayed in the "Aaron's Skipper" cabin, however as we walked around the grounds, we didn't think there was a bad one we could have stayed in. They all seemed great and well-located.

Some awesome things to mention:

- Daily breakfast provided via picnic basket at your door! Expect yummy and FRESH foods.
- Cabin stayed nice and warm even when it was snowing outside!
- Property IS plowed during snow season
- The hot apple cider they make/serve at their store is amazing!

My husband and I have been searching for a place to call "ours" for when we want to get away, and The Butterfly Garden Inn has met what we are looking for. We have nothing but positive memories from our stay here and really can't wait to stay here again this fall/winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desert_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great small resort with very friendly owners and I highly recommend staying here. The breakfast that is brought to the door every morning is amazing, lots of homemade goodies, yogurt and granola, fruit, etc. It has a cute store with all the basics and a area to hang out in and play board games, watch TV, try the piano, etc. We stayed in Rosita Patch and it was perfect for us. Loved the kitchen table with benches. Housekeeping was so-so, we had left a couple of dishes in the sink and they cleaned around them and also just left the towels on the couch instead of putting them in the bathroom. Housekeeping was also loud at times and somewhat unprofessional in my humble opinion. Overall, a wonderful place to stay especially with young children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family of five (inc. kids aged 3, 6 and 9) stayed in the Sonoran Blue cabin no. 6, and traveled with another family of five (inc. kids aged 5, 9 and 12), who stayed in cabin no. 8, for a two day stay at the Butterfly Garden Inn after a three-day railway tour of the Grand Canyon. Spending time at the cabins and on the grounds of this lovely place was such a relaxing way to end our vacation. The weather fluctuated, but was nice enough to take advantage of the gas grills and eat outside both nights and make full use of the picnic tables, which seem to be a feature of every cabin on the premises. During our stay it was sunny and breezy, in the high 70's low 80's. At night the temps dropped to the high 30s and low 40s, so we loved the thermostat controlled fireplaces. On the day we checked out the weather plunged into the 30's, and it snowed! The cabins were exactly what I pictured and wanted: cozy, clean, comfortable, slightly rustic, very charming, no televisions and hardly any mobile service (there is free wifi, which works better the closer you get to the lobby and lounge). We spent most of one day across the road wading in the creek, and also spent some time in Sedona looking around. We otherwise took advantage of the playground and the decent selection of card and board games from the lounge. The proprietors are wonderful and friendly. My children are peanut and tree nut allergic, and I was super impressed with the way our hosts accommodated us. The really lovely breakfast basket we found outside our front door each morning was full of plentiful, carefully packaged, peanut and tree nut free homemade items. I can't imagine returning to Sedona and staying anywhere else. Highly recommend, particularly if you are looking for a cozy and personal resort alternative.

Room Tip: We were happy to get a cabin situated at the back of the property, away from the road, particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
8.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#5 of 48 in Sedona
762 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sky Ranch Lodge
Sky Ranch Lodge
#2 of 20 in Sedona
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butterfly Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden Inn

Property: The Butterfly Garden Inn
Address: 9440 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9623
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterfly Garden Inn, formerly Don Hoel’s cabins, is the perfect destination for individuals, families, and retreat groups who want to relax, unwind, and find refuge from the stress of everyday life. Situated 10 miles north of Sedona in the heart of the Oak Creek Canyon, our tranquil inn has charming cabins ranging from one to three bedrooms with full kitchens, each offering a delicious continental-style breakfast basket delivered to the cabin each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing