We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Butterfly Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had read several other reviews of this place and by and large I would agree with any of them. And I will probably return. The Inn has some minor but interesting history as it was once know as Don Hohls Cabins, originally built 'a long time ago'. Until the new owners bought it and began its refurbishing, it had set empty for a number of years. The new owners have done a very good job given how much would have been required to bring it back and we can recommend it to anyone. It is rustic, (that's the idea) and there were a couple of minor hiccups, i.e. no bottle opener in the cabin, yet selling products that need one, a wonderful breakfast delivered in a basket to your room at 7 am (and I repeat wonderful!!) however, no silverware. A small oversight. Very friendly owners; a great little convenience store as part of the main office (sells anything you might need) and the cabin was very clean with a new King size bed. the only detail I was critical about was the parking (and only at our particular cabin, didn't pay attention to any others) - you really, really needed to meander between the trees esp. when backing out. But ok. In any event, a nice place to get away and I will most likely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oycrumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 232 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had an absolutely delightful experience here. The cabins are basic but lovely. The hosts are tremendously friendly and helpful, and the area is perhaps one of the most beautiful places in United States. I saw another reviewer who said that the breakfast was a little too basic for their tastes. I have to say that our breakfast was perfect. It consisted of fruit, bread, coffee, and juice as well as cereal and milk for the kids. It had just the right mix of carbs and fruit to give us the perfect start for the day of hiking that we had planned. We've stayed at hotels where the "Continental breakfast" left something to be desired, but this breakfast was ideal and it was a true joy to sit outside under the pine trees and munch quietly. The Wi-Fi was a little shaky as one gets away from the lobby, and cellular service is nonexistent. But these two foibles simply add to the perfect disconnected retreat that these cabins provide. The hosts provide a tremendous variety of boardgames which you are welcome to take back to your cabin and play. We selected one and plead with our children. The lack of Internet and cellular enabled us to do this amazing thing called "talking". It was a lot of fun.

If you're looking for a perfect getaway that takes you away from all of the distractions of the everyday world and transports you into a beautiful Woodland Garden of Eden, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JivaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a drive across the US and had a really great stay. The cabin was comfortable and so clean and cozy. Perfect for cooking a nice dinner and resting after the Grand Canyon and long drives in the mountains. The owners were gracious enough to incorporate some feedback that we had as well. I would recommend this destination to friends.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RTWRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Butterfly Garden Inn is a lovely retreat. You are far from town without being too far. We stayed for three nights in Cabin 7, the Painted Lady. It was so comfortable and inviting and we couldn't wait to see what goodies awaited us in the breakfast basket each morning. The fully stocked kitchen is just that. We grilled and cooked our dinner the last night we were there and it was my favorite meal of the trip. Frank and Nicole are the most genuine hosts I've ever encountered. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. And don't forget to ask about the Love Lock gate. We added our lock to the gate right before we checked out, so now it's like there is still a part of us at the Butterfly Garden Inn.

Room Tip: This isn't about the cabin, but travel time to and from Sedona. You pass by Slide Rock State Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauriePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We chose the Butterfly Garden Inn for our annual girl's weekend. The cabin had plenty of room for all four of us. Getting the breakfast basket was like Christmas morning! It contained fresh fruit, fresh baked pastries, yogurt and juice. The owners were available and made sure we had everything we needed. Loved the comfortable beds and quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Most Inns are expensive in Sedona. At least we got what we paid for. Good service! Super clean Inn. It is on 89A- anything you need is on 89A, just go further to 89 A South. It only takes 15' (35m/h)
My family stayed here for one night and wished we were stay here for couple nights.
We were very very disappointed at Matterhorn Inn where we stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've been to Sedona 6 or 7 times before with my family and never experienced it quite like I did at the Butterfly. You feel like you're in a cabin far into the mountains, surrounded by beautiful trees and streams. There's a play structure for the kids and even a little reading and board game room in the lobby cabin. The cabins are super clean and bed and linens are very comfortable. The only limitation was the very small bathroom in our cabin, but the roominess of the kitchen and great breakfast in the morning countered that pretty well. Because the kids could roam around and play, my husband and I had more time than usual to just enjoy nature, read, visit with other family members, etc. Slide Rock Park is really close by, too. Great fun for all!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenBluestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
8.8 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
8.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
9.1 mi away
Sky Ranch Lodge
Sky Ranch Lodge
#1 of 20 in Sedona
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butterfly Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden Inn

Address: 9440 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9623
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $165 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterfly Garden Inn, formerly Don Hoel’s cabins, is the perfect destination for individuals, families, and retreat groups who want to relax, unwind, and find refuge from the stress of everyday life. Situated 10 miles north of Sedona in the heart of the Oak Creek Canyon, our tranquil inn has charming cabins ranging from one to three bedrooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing