We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and magical grounds!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Butterfly Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent stay, beautiful green and magical grounds! It was the perfect place for our daughter's wedding and reception!!! Nicole, Frank, and Gabby were very friendly and accommodating. Cabins are very clean, comfortable, and well maintained. I highly recommend the Butterfly Garden Inn! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent two nights in a cottage with a kitchenette. The property is very well kept & the owners very friendly. There was a very nice playground that my son enjoyed, and I was able to practice the piano in the lobby. We both enjoyed some of the games later.
Waking up to the sound of birds was a highlight!
Do keep in mind that if you want to cook, you should get fresh meat and veggies before driving into Oak Creek Canyon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fantastic Inn in one of the most beautiful places in the US. Great location, super friendly and attentive hosts, comfortable and cozy cabins. Very near West Fork hiking trail, 10 minute drive to central Sedona but also close to Flagstaff going up on 89-A. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a wonderful four night stay at the Butterfly Garden Inn this spring. The location is beautiful and our hosts were excellent. Frank had great suggestions for hikes and eateries. We particularly liked being so close to many excellent hiking trails and away from the touristy madness that is Sedona. We stayed in one of the small historic cabins, Mary's Giant Skipper, which was charming. However, if we return we will be sure to book earlier so we can get a cabin with a full kitchen. Frank was very considerate and set us up with a grill, so we didn't have to eat out every night. The breakfast provided every morning was tasty and substantial. We were very pleased to find that while the cabins are in relatively close proximity to one another, our space felt very private. The trees were full of caterpillars on their way to becoming butterflies and it must be magical to be here when they are flitting about. Highly recommend this lovely spot!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Let me preface by saying - I utilize TripAdvisor regularly to read reviews from others when making my trip planning choices- and this is the first review I have left. We stayed 2 nights (05/05/2013 & 05/06/2013) in the "Rosita Patch" - one of the Inn's 2 bedroom cabins. We chose the Butterfly Garden Inn primarily due to the location. My niece and hubby were celebrating their first anniversary, and this was their first visit to Arizona (from Gowrie, Iowa)...so, my husband and I wanted to give them a quick peek of our Northern Arizona jewels (Montezuma Castle, Montezuma Well, Sedona, Oak Creek Canyon, Flagstaff, the Grand Canyon, Jerome and Prescott). The Butterfly Garden Inn became our "base camp" and it is located in the heart of Oak Creek Canyon - about 10 miles north of the trendy town of Sedona and all of those lovely red rocks - the Inn is nestled amongst tall pine trees and is situated directly across the street from Oak Creek. There is NOTHING like the clean earthy smells of the forest and the creek - it was shear heaven! Our cabin was immaculate and our site hosts were so friendly and accommodating. Just when you think they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, you open your door in the morning, and there is your breakfast basket! There isn't enough space for my on-going praise of this facility. This is one of those jewels folks! You WILL NOT be disappointed with this one!

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank AlwaysSeekingSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

On our way through Sedona, AZ on a recent trip we stopped at the Butterfly Inn general store. The owner could not have been any nicer. Great selection of products. I fell in love with the organic green mint tea. I returned multiple times for more. While we didn't stay in one of their cabins, we discovered the place by accident, we would love to return ne day an actually stay here. I highly recommend people stop here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My beau and I spent five days here, in the Oak Creek Canyon, and absolutely, unequivocably, fell in love with the place! Frank and Nicole (and Gabby!) are superb, top-notch hosts. Their friendly care, easy rapport and welcoming spirit set the tone for us. We stayed in the Cuban Cresent cabin (the best one, I'm certain!) and things could not have been more perfect - cozy, comfortable, and wonderful nesting spot from which to launch out and explore the Canyon and surrounding Sedona area. One of the favourite things about the stay was the morning breakfast basket that was hung outside our door every morning at 7am -- incredibly delicious homemade pastries and breads and fresh fruit, and plenty of it! We loved those morning baskets. And! Be sure to go to the Market store to get your morning coffee. Frank (or Terri!) brew up a mean latte or Americano! Also very cool: they have a love-lock gate for couples who want to commemorate their stay at the BGI - we happily added ours, are delighted to be one of the first locks on the gate! This place is an awesome spot for a romantic getaway! We are definitely planning a trip back to stay -- looking to book during the monsoon season... we want to see the high waters flowing through the Canyon, and do alot more hiking! Cannot recommended the BGI - and Frank and Nicole! - highly enough. Thank you, Frank and Nicole!

Room Tip: If you're a couple who wants a romantic getaway, ask for the Cuban Crescent cabin. It's a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
8.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
913 reviews
8.8 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
979 reviews
13.1 mi away
Red Agave Resort
Red Agave Resort
#38 of 49 in Sedona
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
9.1 mi away
Sky Ranch Lodge
Sky Ranch Lodge
#1 of 20 in Sedona
1,352 reviews
1 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#4 of 49 in Sedona
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butterfly Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden Inn

Address: 9440 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9623
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $165 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterfly Garden Inn, formerly Don Hoel’s cabins, is the perfect destination for individuals, families, and retreat groups who want to relax, unwind, and find refuge from the stress of everyday life. Situated 10 miles north of Sedona in the heart of the Oak Creek Canyon, our tranquil inn has charming cabins ranging from one to three bedrooms with full kitchens, each offering a delicious continental-style breakfast basket delivered to the cabin each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing