We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, but could use a remodel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heartline Cafe

The Heartline Cafe
Ranked #64 of 190 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mountain Shadow & Posse Ground
Description: *Late Evening Diners Please note we are open till (Close). Please call us for reservations for dining after 9:00 P.M. Mystical Sedona, the home of The Heartline Cafe for 20 years. During this time The Heartline Cafe has been serving award winning cuisine in its beautiful main dining room, Fireside room and the Patio amidst luscious gardens and a spectacular view of the Sedona"s world famous red rock mountains. The Heartline Cafe serves breakfast, and lunch at our unique Gourmet Market and dinner in our exquisite dining room. The Heartline Cafe features an extensive wine list including many spectacular local varieties. The wait staff is meticulously trained to provide superior service assuring a fine dining experience. The Heartline Cafe has recently been named the winner of three awards in a poll conducted by Market Surveys of America. We invite you to tour our web site for additional information and pictures of the restaurant and our food.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
340 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great food, but could use a remodel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food and service were great. I thought the ambiance/decor could benefit from an updating. I sort of felt like I was sitting in a Coco's. They had a nice outdoor dining area, but we ate indoors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    207
    98
    47
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We liked this restaurant a lot. very attentive staff, interesting menu and food was delish. Unique food choices not your usual stuff. would recommend and definitely going back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickBlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointed - Nothing Special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been visiting Sedona for over 20 years and always heard that the Heartline Cafe was the best. So, for my wife's birthday I wanted to treat her to a nice meal in a top rated restaurant.

Well, we were seated promptly in a nice patio area to the rear of the restaurant and the service was fine. We order a "potato chowder" to start (a special for the night) and it was excellent. Next we had their salad. While it was big, it was mainly just greens and nothing special.

Finally, we both ordered their ribeye steak with blue cheese and mashed potatoes. I order mine medium well and my wife ordered her's medium. At $32 a steak we were expecting a good piece of meat. Instead it was tough and chewy. We had to bear down on our steak knives to cut it and we had to chew, a lot, just to digest it. After that, we didn't bother with desert.

I have had better steak at chain steak houses, and for a lot less. That is why we were disappointed and cannot recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeartlineCafe, Public Relations Manager at The Heartline Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with the ribeye steak. The beef we serve is USDA prime Colorado angus grain fed with no hormones. A factor could be the temp that you ordered. Well done beef does get tough. However if you contact me I will send you a certificate for 2 complimentary dinners.
Regards
Mike Dawson
michael@heartlinecafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A cute patio for lunch..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a delightful lunch on the patio. The place was very busy but the staff was still friendly and did the best they could. I had a great grilled fish on flatbread. Very cute and cozy place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maryphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food with a number of caveats...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

You won't be disappointed by the breakfast food here- the French toast is phenomenal, as are the Crab Benedict and Mexican Benedict. We sat outside on the back patio and wondered why there were so many flies. Then we discovered why- the garbage is just on the other side if the curtain dividing the patio and kitchen. Then we found a hair in the freshly squeezed pineapple juice. The pineapple as well as the OJ are both fresh squeezed... Delicious! The waitress pretty much abandoned us and when we needed to switch the apple juice for the pineapple juice we ordered as well as the one with the hair in it, she was nowhere to be found. Overall, great food, poor service.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rthomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heartline Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing