We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Portal is a rare find and one that you must experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“El Portal is a rare find and one that you must experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

El Portal is a rarity! This is our third trip to this unique and cozy inn. We split our time between Room 11 (3 nights) and Room 12 (4 nights). Room 11 feels like you’ve stepped back in time to an arts and crafts period of yesteryear, with a comfortable couch and rocking chair, double sinks, lovely bathroom and a balcony that overlooks the courtyard. Room 12 is the largest suite and is absolutely a dream! Besides being very spacious, it has beautifully crafted antique furniture, a nice bathroom and fireplace. The beds are custom made and are the most comfortable firm beds. You will wake up refreshed. And all the linens and towels are top drawer. The great room is a pleasant place to hang out. Besides friendly people to chat with, you will find tasty breakfasts. We especially liked the lemon pancakes and huevos rancheros. Steve and Connie, the innkeepers, are refreshingly genuine and honest people. They are first rate in helping you to enjoy your stay and are quite a pleasant eclectic pair. The staff is also most helpful. Martin, the houseman, is engaging and provides superior service. Terri, concierge services, is warm and knowledgeable. The housekeeping crew – Moré, Sylvia and Esperanza – are all helpful in getting you whatever you need. If you like dogs, you will find friendly ones here. In the evenings you will be welcomed back by a great smelling fire in the courtyard. El Portal is not your run-of-the-mill lodging. It is uniquely and masterfully crafted, quiet and homey, with a great sense of peace and spirit abounding.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen2peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you so much! Come back again!

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
111
280
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed at El Portal in Sedona for 2 days in October and can say nothing but wonderful things about this lovely inn. It's located in the heart of downtown Sedona next to the Tlaquepaque shopping area and close to many restaurants - it's also a convenient drive to all of the sites in the area. Upon check-in, we were greeted warmly and given a tour of the main area, kitchen and our room, as well as provided with information for our stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious and offer a comfortable bed, large bathroom and fireplace. The decor around the hotel and in the rooms is amazing and includes many of the owners' collections from over the years, which creates a very personal space. You immediately feel at home.

El Portal promotes itself as a dog-friendly hotel and it definitely is - our Lab was made to feel right at home and was welcome in the main area for meals and allowed relatively free rein on the property (leashed, of course). Our room included a towel/wash cloth, sheet and dog treats especially for our dog which were welcomed, as she was included in all of our hikes during our stay. Many of the area restaurants and all of the hiking trails allow dogs which makes Sedona a perfect place to travel with your pet. El Portal gives you a list of dog-friendly places to visit so this makes planning the day a lot easier.

El Portal made our short vacation to Sedona very special and we will definitely be returning in the near future for a longer visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justsaycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you so much! Come back again!

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

After doing much research on Sedona hotels and reading TripAdvisor reviews, we decided that El Portal would be our home for 6 nights. El Portal is truly like staying in a warm and welcoming home. We were made to feel like family. The owner, Steve has a passion for this property. El Portal is only 7 years old, but looks like it's been there forever. Beautiful vines and flowers grow everywhere. Hummingbirds frequent the feeders all around the courtyard. The rooms are amazing, spacious, clean and very comfortable! We stayed in Room 7, the Grand Canyon room. The location of El Portal in Sedona is perfect. My husband was very sick one evening and Fran went to the store for us and came back with everything we needed for a fast recovery. She is a wonderful friend to Steve and Connie and also to El Portal!! The entire staff at El Portal are so friendly and they really care about your stay, not only at El Portal, but in Sedona in general. They set us up with private tour guides, massages, the best places to eat, shop and visit. El Portal is amazing and should not be missed!! We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Sedona!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellBim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
You're the BEST! Thank you so much! Come back again!

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Kudos to owner/hosts Steve and Connie Segner for offering rustic elegance in this small inn tucked amidst the red rocks. El Portal is clearly a labor of love--a unique extension of their vision of style and comfort. This spot is a real find for travelers who seek a casual and welcoming environment, knowledgeable hosts, and attention to design and detail. Every one of the dozen rooms offers its own variation on Craftsman-style earthy elegance. Breakfasts are hearty and delicious. The interior patio is perfect for sipping early morning coffee or relaxing by the fire pit as evening falls. An agreeable arrangement with a resort next door provides guests access to gym, pool, and spa facilities at no extra charge. And it's pet-friendly besides!!!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKM10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Perfect Guests too - Thank you so much! Come back again!

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Steve Segner and staff make sure that his guests are well cared for during their stay at El Portal. Besides its beautiful design and location, the hotel exudes the dynamic personality of Steve, who make a personal connection with each guest. Our room was beautiful and breakfast and afternoon hors d'oevres delicious. A very relaxing place to stay and enjoy the Sedona experience. Use of the pool and spa across the street was an added attraction, as were the nearby restaurants and shops at Tlaquepaque.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
We So Hope You Come back again!

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Incredible! Located right behind Tlaqui Paqui, this is a beautiful little gem of a place. Only 7 years old, but looks historic; adobe walls, leaded glass, natural woods. We were in the "Arts and Crafts" suite with a fireplace, large incredibly comfortable bed, private patio, spacious bathroom "suite" with jacuzzi tub for two and a tiled shower with a great shower head, great towels and sheets. If you venture out of the room, you'll discover a simple grassy "courtyard". By day, a wedding party was taking pictures there (an indication of how beautiful this spot is), and at night, there's a fire pot of fragrant burning Juniper logs and chairs set up to sit and enjoy the ambience and star-filled sky. Wine, coffee and tea is available "on the honor system", and the restaurant looked very nice but we weren't able to take advantage of it. . It's not inexpensive, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHE713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you for your review. Come see us again.

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

A wonderful Craftsman reproduction small lodge in a walk to location in Sedona. what a great time we had enjoyoing the quality of the design, landscaping with each room uniquely designed. The Owner and host Steve made a point of serving breakfast to the guests and talking about how he created the lodge and willingly shared his knowledge of Sedona. This is a dog freindly establishment and I didn't have a dog but the place is so well maintained you couldn't notice. has pool privliages at a next door resort and Spa

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikegooddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
We have great guests. Thank you for your review. Come back again.

Steve and Connie Segner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing