We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sedona Motel(Sedona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Motel(Sedona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
484
47
25
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
47
25
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pithonor systemrecommend elsteve connieadobe wallsgovernor's suitejuniper roomhonor bargreat roomarts craftspet friendly hotelsteam showergrand canyonsmall hotelluxury hotelhome away from homeprivate patio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 579 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2007

If quaint, unique and perfect is on the agenda...this is the place for you!! Sedona itself is magic...when you stay at a place like this it makes it even more special--stay in room 6 (the hile)..perfection...just know that while it lacks the amenities of similar priced hotel..it is an INN and more than makes up for it with its warmth, spirit and location...... cant wait to be be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank torontojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Our first time visit to Sedona, AZ was awesome and a large contributing factor was our stay at El Portal. Can be described as an upscale adobe inn with a warm Spanish hacienda feel. Architecturally original and true to character. Attention was given to EVERY detail from wine amenities in our room, wireless community computer access, to a wealth of information on every Sedona activity! Any requests we had were met immediately and positively. Their in-house chef prepared cuisines worthy of any 5 star resort.

In short, there are too many amiable qualities to list. We look forward to our visits to El Portal.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janiemahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We found that this property is overrated and expensive. The pictures on the web were deceiving when compared to the real thing. Yes, there are beautiful touches and the architecture is wonderful if you are planning to stay at a museum. If you are looking for intimacy and creature comforts, this is really not the place. Antiques abound but you cannot curl up in front of the fire in a rickety, wicker rocking chair!!
At approximately $400 a night, we expected complete comfort and luxury. The main floor rooms show private patios on the web...this is an exaggeration. The patios overlook parking lots and commercial properties. There is no privacy. One of the patios has noisy heating/air conditioning units.
Access to the 'spa' at the neighboring resort is used as a come-on. Anyone who wants to pay El Portal rates will be expecting much more. The facilities at the neighbouring resort we considered sub-standard and even the host said she did not recommend the spa!!
Breakfast is expensive and not included in the high rates. Even our coffee which they said was included and which we helped ourselves to from thermal carafes was added to our bill - only $2.00 but somewhat tacky we felt. There is a courtyard in the center of the Inn where guests can light fires. Unfortunately, this means that the entire area is filled with the smell of mesquite smoke.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Calgaryreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Rooms were excellent, staff could not be better. Big thanks to Eden the chef and all others who made our brief trip a really relaxing experience. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adkfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I booked a weekend package with El Portal hoping that it would be a pleasant surprise for my husband's 40th birthday. The only way I found out about this place was right here on TripAdvisor and we were very pleased with our experience there.

When I booked over the phone (with Terri) I told her that this is a special birthday and that it is a surprise! She totally went along with me and kept it all a secret from her end. I also asked another couple to meet us there to surprise my husband. The staff at El Portal was more than accomodating and it was pulled off without a hitch! We stayed in the Juniper Room and would book it again in a heartbeat. Our friends were in #2 and really got to like it once they settled in. They were a little put-off by the fact that it is located near the dining room. When they realized that it was quiet they really liked it. We all liked the unique bathrobes and they are such that you really can wear them around the property comfortably. The size of this inn allows for personal service and attnetion. The staff is not too obtrusive which we feared a bit in the beginning. Even if you do not stay at El Portal...you must make an effort to get over to the dining room on the weekend for dinner. Wow! Terrific dinners and the breakfasts were just wonderful. Totally worth the calories...kudos to the chef! We have two young kids that did not come with us on this trip and frankly...I would not bring kids here. It is just too relaxing. It is quiet, quaint, classy, and comfortable.

I would not say that it is a "bargin" as the prices are high. For special occasions where the goal is to relax...it is well worth the money.

So happy that I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor that were before I booked. Hardly any of them had a bad thing to say. I have to agree with them all. This is "a must" if you are looking for something unique during your Sedona stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LivinInAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews