We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
287
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2005

If you want first class this is it! Steve the owner will bend over backwards to help you with all your needs. The food is to die for! Excellent .... Take the Jeep tour the driver Dave will go the extra mile, and really knows the best of the best in sadona. Treat yourself.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 1, 2005

Simply put, the best place we have ever stayed. From location
to amenities, El Portal has it all. You are treated more like
family than a hotel guest. Certain rooms are pet friendly so
we were able to travel with our pets. Breakfast and dinner
were both exceptional. We were able to enjoy the evenings
by lounging in the courtyard sipping wine and observing the
local birds fighting over the numerous feeders. Would most
definatley recommend El Portal to anyone visiting Sedona.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles california
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2005

This trip was intended as a weekend getaway. We received very excellent personalized service. From the moment we arrived we were treated as though we were guests in someones home and not in a hotel. All of the staff went out of their way to let us know that they were there to get us anything we needed, (which is a rarity these days). Additonally I had requested a few things to be waiting in the room upon our arrival and to my pleasant surprise they actually were there when we checked in.

Our room (#4) was even more quaint than the picture on line displays. The attention to detail was very evident. In addition to dining at El Portal we also asked for several recommendations and were very pleased with each one. Eden (the chef) even gave us one which was a nice surprise.

I would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2005

After spending just two nights at El Portal my wife and I can't wait to go back again. The room we stayed in (Arts and Crafts) and all it's amenities was truly special. We enjoyed it's unique adobe construction and exposed wood interior design, as well as the private patio. The owners (Connie and Steve) and staff (especially Heather) did a wonderful job of meeting all of our needs and making their B&B seem like a home away from home. The Saturday night dinner on-site was also an excellent experience.
We have been visiting Sedona for the past five years and our stay at El Portal was truly memorable!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TjakeJanesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

We don't make a practice of writing reviews for places we have stayed, but after reading a horrible review entitled "Disappointed", we decided that making this time was important to us. We honestly feel that El Portal is our Heaven on Earth, and have visited on many ocassions never feeling disappointed. As a matter of fact, the location, ambience and pampering have far exceeded our expectations... and that's no easy task as we only vacation at 5 star Inns and B&Bs.

It's as if the writer of the formentioned review had stayed at a different place than El Portal. However, the disappointed visitor did make one observation that was valid in our opinion; that being their inability to discern whether El Portal was an Inn or B&B. In fact, it is neither. This is the HOME of the owners, and guests who visit are treated as such. We were even given the opportunity of picking a bottle of wine out of their wine cabinet and simply leaving a note as to which one we took. This kind of trust doesn't even happen at our house! This is just a sampling of the graciousness and friendliness we have come to expect when we visit.

The concern shown by the owners and their staff, who are really more like hosts, is to ensure that our stay be much more than pleasant. They strive for it to be memorable! The rooms are fabulously decorated and comfortable (we have stayed in 3).... high count cotton sheets, down blankets and comforters and Egyptian cotton bath sheets. They have the most wonderful therapeutic spa-style bath tubs that automatically clean the jets with air after each use. It was the first time that we felt comfortable sitting in a tub without cleaning it first! It was hard to leave these surroundings and venture out into the courtyard for our gourmet cooked-to-order breakfasts!

While planning a return to El Portal, we decided to read others comments. It is clear that the vast majority of guests have shared similar experineces as us. We are excited about returning and looking forward to the new adventures awaiting us at El Portal.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

I have been a frequent visitor to Sedona for over a decade and always stayed at Enchantment Resort...that is, until El Portal opened in June 2003. There is no reason to stay anywhere else. Returning to Sedona and El Portal is like going home. The Inn is one of a kind, and simply beautiful, more importantly, beginning with my first visit; the atmosphere was like being in the presence of old friends. Thoughtful little extras, which go above and beyond, seemed second nature to the owners, Steve and Connie. For example, being invited to join them in a casual supper prepared by Steve, or friendly, evening, gatherings around the fire in the Great Room, getting to know their guests a little better. The friendliness was never over bearing and my privacy was always respected. Both the owners and staff take the comfort and needs of their guest very seriously, and I have found them to be sincerely open to any suggestion or constructive criticism. El Portal truly is in every sense of the word a "home away from home".

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing